Pittsburgh Penguins' Sidney Crosby wins second straight Conn Smythe Trophy

Sidney Crosby has been named the Conn Smythe Trophy winner for a second straight year.

The Penguins captain finished second on the Penguins with 27 points in 24 games and was a three-zone force throughout the playoffs. He was at his best in the Stanley Cup Final, leading all players with seven points and absolutely dominating in Pittsburgh’s crucial Game 5 win.

Crosby is only the third repeat Conn Smythe winner and the first since Mario Lemieux led the Penguins to back-to-back Stanley Cups in 1991-92. Bernie Parent also won the trophy in consecutive years with the Philadelphia Flyers in 1974-75.

Evgeni Malkin, who led all playoff scorers with 28 points, was a worthy candidate, and a case could be made for Matt Murray, but no player was more important to the Penguins’ championship run than their captain.

Crosby earned playoff MVP honors for the same reason a year ago. He finished second on the Pens with 19 points in 24 games — well beyond Logan Couture’s playoff-leading 30 points — but was the best player at both ends of the ice.

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes