Posta Rangers 1-0 K.Sharks: Mailmen maintain unbeaten run

The visitors came into the match aiming at extending their unbeaten run to ten games, as well as keep their stay at the top

Posta Rangers have edged out Kariobangi Sharks 1-0 in a league match played on Saturday at Afraha Stadium.

 A 40th minute foul by Paschal Ogweno inside the box cost Kariobangi Sharks as centre referee awarded Posta Rangers a penalty which Joseph Mbugi converted to hand the Sammy ‘Pamzo’ Omollo coached outfit the slim victory.

Furthermore, Ogweno was red-carded leaving the visitors one man less towards the end of first-half.

The incident came after Posta Rangers had piled pressure in the Sharks’ defense in search of an opening goal with Gearson Likono, Geoffrey Kataka and Dennis Mukaisi being in frontline.

Even with one man down, Kariobangi Sharks fought in the second half to protect their keeper Jeff Oyemba from conceding a second goal but Posta Rangers ended up counting three wins in a row following the lone goal.

They also take pride in a six-match unbeaten streak with four wins and two draws at the top of the table; a position they will retain if the rest of the results favour them.

Posta Rangers: Patrick Matasi, Joakins Atudo, Luke Ochieng’, Simon Mbugua, Titus Achesa, Joseph Mbugi, Jerry Santos, Joseph Nyagah, Gearson Likono, Geoffrey Kataka, Dennis Mukaisi

Subs: Faruk Shikhalo, Hashim Mukhwana, Simon Ogutu, Joseph Kuria, Eric Kibiru, Jared Obwoge, John Nairuka.

Kariobangi Sharks: Jeff Oyemba, Michael Bodo, Pascal Ogweno, Geoffrey Shiveka (C), Bolton Omwenga, Elli Asieche, Patillah Omotto, Cavin Odongo, Ovella Ochieng’, Francis Manoa, Masoud Juma.

Subs: Robert Mboya, Wycliffe Otieno, Osborne Monday, Sven Yidah, Mathew Odongo, Mike Misigo, Rodgers Omondi.

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes