Chelsea Star N'Golo Kante Wins PFA Player of the Year Award in Sunday Night Ceremony

Sal Sayles

Held at Grosvenor House, London, the star-studded PFA Awards took place on Sunday evening and while various gongs were presented, none were bigger than the Players' Player of the Year.

Only Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, ​Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale have won it twice. Only Ronaldo and Henry have claimed it in consecutive seasons:

Whichever way you want to look at it, the PFA Players' Player of the Year award is a pretty big deal; there's nothing quite like getting respect from your peers, and being chosen as the greatest amongst them - for one season at least - is surely an incredible feeling.

​​In the 2015/16 campaign, Leicester City's wing wizard Riyad Mahrez took home the prize; b ut what about the current season? 

Here's a reminder of this year's nominees:

Before the main announcement, Tottenham Hotspur's Dele Alli was named the  Young Player of the Year - after picking up the same award last season!

Congratulations are certainly in order.

And as for the main event, well the award went to none other than Chelsea's N'Golo Kante!

After playing a pivotal role for Leicester City in their 2015/16 title-winning campaign, many thought Kante should have won this award last season - now, at his new club Chelsea, he's done it, beating out teammate Eden Hazard (who finished second) and Manchester United's Zlatan Ibrahimovic (third).

Huge congratulations to N'Golo. Fully deserved.

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes