Ranking every Man Utd boss under the Glazers by PPG: Ten Hag third

 Credit: Alamy
Credit: Alamy

Manchester United have gone through plenty of managers since Sir Alex Ferguson retired back in 2013.

Erik ten Hag will be the man hoping to bring the glory days back to Old Trafford, but plenty have failed before him.

The Dutch manager currently has United sat fifth in the table and three points outside of the top four which will be the aim for the end of the season.

“It’s good and I think we came from far this season with the fans, with this team, with this club, the togetherness – now it’s back and we have to keep that,” Ten Hag told the club website following their 2-1 win at Fulham.

“We have to invest in both sides, the fans and the players together, to [build] a new United. We have to make a new history.

“You have to analyse the process and then you see we are improving in a lot of skills during this first half of the season so far. But also realise we are not there, where we want to be, and that we have to invest even more and we have to work even more.

“Everyone as an individual, but especially also as a team and if we do that we can achieve the ambitions we have.”

Sir Alex Ferguson was always going to be a tough act to follow and many so far have crumbled under the weight of expectations.

Ten Hag is clearly motivated enough to bring the good times back, but how does his record stack up against former United bosses?

We’ve ranked every United manager in the Glazer era by their Premier League points-per-game record. Note: we’ve not included Ryan Giggs who was only in charge for four games. 

7. Ralf Rangnick

Games: 24
Win rate: 41%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.54

6. David Moyes

Games: 34
Win rate: 50%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.67

 Credit: Alamy
Credit: Alamy

READ: Where are they now? Manchester United’s last XI picked by David Moyes

5. Louis van Gaal

Games: 76
Win rate: 51.3%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.78

4. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

Games: 105
Win rate: 52.4%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.84

 Credit: Alamy
Credit: Alamy

READ: What 16 Man Utd players have said in praise of Solskjaer: ‘We love him’

3. Erik ten Hag

Games: 24
Win rate: 57%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.85

2. Jose Mourinho

Games: 93
Win rate: 53.8%
Points-per-game (PPG): 1.89

1. Sir Alex Ferguson

Games: 305
Win rate: 70.5%
Points-per-game (PPG): 2.27

READ MORE: Who are the highest-paid players in the Premier League, 2022-23?

The article Ranking every Man Utd boss under the Glazers by PPG: Ten Hag third appeared first on Planetfootball.com.