Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:


SOCCER

World Cup playoffs

Europe

Croatia v Greece

ZAGREB - Croatia and Greece clash in the first leg of their World Cup playoff tie. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-CRO-GRC/, (PIX) expect by 2145 GMT/4:45 PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 400 words)


Northern Ireland v Switzerland

BELFAST - Switzerland, having lost out to Portugal on goal difference in their qualifying group, now face a difficult trip to Northern Ireland for the first leg of their playoff. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-NIR-SWI/ (PIX), expect by 2145 GMT/4:45 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)


Sweden and Italy prepare for first leg

STOCKHOLM - Four-times world champions Italy play Sweden in Stockholm on Friday in the first game in their two-legged playoff for a place at next year's World Cup. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE-ITA/ (PREVIEW, PIX, TV), by Philip O'Connor, 400 words)


Intercontinental playoff

New Zealand v Peru, Wellington (11)

Guerreo absence overshadows Peru's chance for World Cup

WELLINGTON - Paolo Guerrero's ban for failing a doping test is a setback to Peru's bid to qualify for their first World Cup since 1982 as they face underdogs New Zealand in a playoff on Saturday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-NZL-PER/ (PREVIEW), expect by 0800 GMT/3 AM ET, by Greg Stutchbury, 400 words)


Germany's Loew discusses England friendly

BERLIN - Germany coach Joachim Loew holds a news conference as the world champions train for the last time before their departure to London ahead of Friday's friendly against England. (SOCCER-FRIENDLY-ENG-GER/ (PREVIEW, PIX), 400 words)


World Cup ball unveiled

MOSCOW - Ceremony to unveil the official World Cup 2018 ball with Argentine forward Lionel Messi. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/BALL, copy on merit)

MOTOR RACING

Formula One - Brazilian Grand Prix

Massa meets the media before final home race

SAO PAULO - Brazilian Felipe Massa leads the news conference lineup ahead of what will be the Williams driver's last home race. Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton will also be back in the spotlight after winning his fourth title. (MOTOR-F1-BRAZIL/, expect throughout, 400 words)


NFL

Seahawks face Cardinals in Week 10 opener

Russell Wilson and the Seattle Seahawks, on short rest after a brutal loss to Washington, visit Larry Fitzgerald and the Arizona Cardinals for the opening game of Week 10 National Football League action. (FOOTBALL-NFL-ARI-SEA/, expect by 0530 GMT/12:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)


GOLF

PGA Tour: OHL Classic at Mayakoba, Mexico

Fowler makes season debut

World number 10 Rickie Fowler, the highest-ranked player in the field, will make his season debut when he sets off for the opening round on the El Camaleon course at the resort of Playa del Carmen. (GOLF-MAYAKOBA/ (TV), expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, 350 words)


European Tour: Nedbank Challenge

CAPE TOWN - Race to Dubai leader Tommy Fleetwood can open up a bigger gap over closest rival Justin Rose in the European Tour's order of merit chase as he head a strong field in the penultimate event of the season. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/)


TENNIS

ATP Next Gen Finals

MILAN - The final day of round-robin action will decide the semis-final line-up at the new showcase event with the pick of the action the winner-takes-all Group A match between Canadian Denis Shapovalov and Russian Andrey Rublev. (TENNIS-NEXTGEN/, expect throughout, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)


Fed Cup final

The U.S. Fed Cup team will discuss the upcoming Fed Cup Final against Belarus, hosted at Chizhovka Arena on an indoor hard court in Minsk, Nov. 11-12. The United States won the last of its record 17 Fed Cup titles in 2000. (TENNIS-FEDCUP/USA, expect throughout, 400 words)


RUGBY

November internationals

England name team

BAGSHOT, England - England coach Eddie Jones names his team for the test against Argentina. RUGBY-UNION-ENG/TEAM, (PIX), expect by 1045 GMT/5:45 ET, by Mitch Phillips, 400 words)


We will continue the buildup to all the weekend internationals in Europe with team news, injuries and coverage of news conferences on merit. (RUGBY-UNION-TEAM/, expect throughout)


NBA

Simmons leads Sixers in clash with Kings

Australian rookie standout Ben Simmons and the Philadelphia 79ers visit the Sacramento Kings while James Harden and the Houston Rockets host LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers in two of the five games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)


NHL

Stamkos leads Lightning in battle with Kings

NHL scoring leader Steven Stamkos and the Tampa Bay Lightning visit the Los Angeles Kings while the Chicago Blackhawks visit the Philadelphia Flyers in two of the seven games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)


DOPING

Russian athletics coaches hold meeting

MOSCOW - Russian coaches meet to discuss situation with their athletes still suspended from international competition.(DOPING-RUSSIA/ATHLETICS, copy on merit) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes