Reuters Sports Schedule at 1430 GMT on Thursday

Reuters

Reuters sports schedule at 1430 GMT on Thursday:


SOCCER

King's Cup

Struggling Madrid look to Cup for way out of crisis

MADRID - Crisis-hit Real Madrid make the short trip to Leganes for a King's Cup quarter-final first leg looking for a way out of a dismal run of form in which they have only won one of their last five games in all competitions. (SOCCER-SPAIN-CUP/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/3 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)


Premier League

We continue the build-up to the weekend's Premier League matches. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/, expect throughout)


TENNIS

Australian Open (to 28)

Federer extracting edge even from obligatory media meets

MELBOURNE - From his backhand to his serve, Roger Federer has always looked to improve but now he has found another way to get an edge, by using media conferences to his advantage. (TENNIS-AUSOPEN/FEDERER-PRESS, expect by 1500 GMT/10 AM ET, by Simon Cambers, 500 words)


GOLF

Abu Dhabi HSBC Champions

Johnson, McIlroy head strong field

World number one Dustin Johnson and four-times major champion Rory McIlroy head a strong field in Abu Dhabi. (GOLF-EUROPEAN, expect by 1500 GMT/10 AM ET, 400 words)


CareerBuilder Challenge, La Quinta, California (to 21)

Mickelson, Rahm head field at La Quinta

Five-times major champion Phil Mickelson makes his 2018 debut in a field that includes Spanish world number three Jon Rahm, defending champion Hudson Swafford and twice winner Bill Haas as the PGA Tour begins its West Coast swing at three La Quinta courses for the CareerBuilder Challenge. (GOLF-LAQUINTA/, expect by 0115 GMT/8:15 PM ET, 400 words)

RUSSIA CONFERENCE

Russia sports minister, World Cup chief at business forum

MOSCOW - Russian Minister of Sports Pavel Kolobkov and the 2018 World Cup organising committee Chairman Alexander Sorokin join other top officials and business people at the annual Gaidar economic forum, which opens the business year in Russia. (RUSSIA-FORUM/, (PIX, TV)


FIGURE SKATING

European Championships

MOSCOW - Two-time world champion Evgenia Medvedeva is expected to return to competition after a foot injury that has raised doubts on her ability to compete at next month's Pyeongchang Olympics. The pairs title will also be decided.(FIGURESKATING-EUROPE/(PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 300 words)


HANDBALL

Hosts Croatia looking for vital points against Belarus

ZAGREB - European championship hosts Croatia face a must-win game against unfancied Belarus, aiming to keep alive their hopes of reaching the semis. Norway have the same task against Serbia in the early fixture. (HANDBALL-EUROPE/ (PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 300 words)


NBA

Rockets host T-Wolves, Celtics face Sixers

The Houston Rockets try to close the gap on the Western Conference-leading Golden State Warriors when they host the Minnesota Timberwolves while the East’s leading Boston Celtics host the Philadelphia 76ers in two of the four games on the National Basketball Association’s schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)


NHL

Streaking Avs battle Sharks, Lightning host Golden Knights

The red-hot Colorado Avalanche try to extend their win streak to an NHL best eight games when they host the San Jose Sharks while the Eastern Conference-leading Tampa Bay Lightning host the surprising expansion Vegas Golden Knights in two of the 10 games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0430 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 300 words)


NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)


WINTER OLYMPICS

We continue to move our series of features and previews ahead of the Feb. 9-25 Games in South Korea.

Ice hockey

Canada heads back to gold medal drawing board

TORONTO - When the International Olympic Committee opened the doors of the Winter Games to National Hockey League players in 1998, picking a Team Canada was so simple everyone could do it. And they did. (OLYMPICS-2018-ICEH/CANADA, moved, by Steve Keating, 750 words)


NHL back for the 2022 Olympics in China?

TORONTO - The NHL and the Olympics have often had a rocky relationship that appeared to end in divorce when for the first time since 1998 the league refused to free players to take part in the Games. But the two sides may be ready to make-up with 2022 Beijing Olympics on the horizon. (OLYMPICS-2018-ICEH/NHL, (PIX), moved, by Steve Keating, 700 words)


Short track

Short track still a huge draw in South Korea

While there has been much hand-wringing over sluggish ticket sales for the Pyeongchang Winter Games empty seats will not be an issue inside the Gangneung Ice Arena when short track speedskating is in session. (OLYMPICS-2018-STSK/KOREA (PIX), moved, by Steve Keating, 400 words)


Freestyle skiing, snowboarding

British snowboarding and freestyle skiing

HEMEL HEMPSTEAD, England - It wasn't too long ago that Britain was lucky to get one medal at a Winter Olympics. Now the country's freestyle skiers and snowboarders are ready to take on the world. (OLYMPICS-2018-SNO/BRITAIN (TV), moved, by Jack Tarrant, 400 words) (Europe Desk Editor: Pritha Sarkar)

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes