Rugby - Fourie returns for Springboks against Wales

South Africa have selected Jaque Fourie for Saturday's clash with Wales in what will be the outside-centre's first appearance for the Springboks since the 2011 World Cup.

PA Sport
Rugby - Fourie returns for Springboks against Wales

View photo

Jaque Fourie is back in the fold for South Africa.

Fourie, a veteran of 69 Tests, has served a self-imposed two-year spell of international exile while playing for Kobe Steelers in Japan.

Experienced wing JP Pietersen has also been recalled by coach Heyneke Meyer after injury and unavailability prevented him from playing for South Africa so far this season.

"We're very fortunate to have two world-class players in JP and Jaque available for selection and I wanted to get them into the action as soon as possible," said Meyer.

"They bring a vast amount of experience to the team and it was clear from our training sessions thus far that they are in great form and ready for Test rugby."

Prop Frans Malherbe will make his Test debut at the Millennium Stadium as a replacement for the injured Jannie du Plessis, while lock Flip van der Merwe will start alongside Eben Etzebeth.

"Frans has big boots to fill, but he's been with us for most of 2012 and shown good form since recovering from injury recently," Meyer said.

"We don't have any doubts that he has what it takes to make the step up.

"He'll have two players with more than 50 Test caps each next to him in the scrum, and his general work-rate across the field and on defence is very good. I'm very happy for Frans."

Uncapped second row Pieter-Steph du Toit has been named on the bench.

South Africa: 15-Pat Lambie, 14-JP Pietersen, 13-Jaque Fourie, 12-Jean de Villiers (captain), 11-Bryan Habana, 10-Morne Steyn, 9-Fourie du Preez; 8-Duane Vermeulen, 7-Willem Alberts, 6-Francois Louw, 5-Flip van der Merwe, 4-Eben Etzebeth, 3-Frans Malherbe, 2-Bismarck du Plessis, 1-Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16-Adriaan Strauss, 17-Gurthro Steenkamp, 18-Coenie Oosthuizen, 19-Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20-Siya Kolisi, 21-Ruan Pienaar, 22-JJ Engelbrecht, 23-Willie le Roux

View comments (0)