Rugby League - Queensland unchanged for Origin decider

Queensland have named an unchanged team for the State of Origin series decider against New South Wales at Sydney's ANZ Stadium on Wednesday week.

PA Sport
Rugby League - Queensland unchanged for Origin decider

View photo

Johnathan Thurston played in game two despite an illness

Unlike the Blues, the Maroons are injury-free and coach Mal Meninga predictably stuck with the side that crushed New South Wales 26-6 in game II at Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium.

Forward Jacob Lillyman, of New Zealand Warriors, has been named as 18th man and Melbourne centre Will Chambers is also in the 19 to provide cover.

Johnathan Thurston will be looking for a perfect preparation after struggling with a groin injury in the opening game and entering hospital on the eve of game two when he literally got off his sick bed to star for the Maroons.

The North Queensland half-back is the only player to have played in every single game of Queensland's seven-year dominance.

While Queensland will stick with their winning formula and are on the verge of claiming an unprecedented eighth straight series success, the Blues have already been forced to make changes due to injury, with winger Jarryd Hayne replaced by James McManus.

In addition, captain Paul Gallen is rated a 50-50 chance to overcome a foot injury and full-back Josh Dugan is due to become a father for the first time on the day of the game.

Queensland team: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm); Darius Boyd (Newcastle Knights), Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Justin Hodges (Brisbane Broncos), Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys); Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys), Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm); Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys), Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm, capt), Nate Myles (Gold Coast Titans), Chris McQueen (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos).

Replacements: Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles), Ben Te'o (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos), Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders).

View comments (0)