Sanchez claims Spanish TT title

Luis Leon Sanchez, Tony Martin, Sylvain Chavanel and Lieuwe Westra all won their national time trial titles.



Luis Leon Sanchez defended his Spanish TT title for a fourth time with a dominant 1:23 victory over Jonathan Castroviejo. Alejandro Marque was third. Sanchez has now won the title in 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2012.


Like Sanchez, Frances Sylvain Chavanel also claimed a fourth national time trial title with a 13-second win over Jeremy Roy. Amateur rider Yoann Paillot was a surprise third just over a minute back.


Lieuwe Westra was a relatively narrow victor in the Netherlands to claim his first career national time trial title. He beat Lars Boom by seven seconds, with Niki Terpstra third 21s back.


Tony Martin was the expected winner in the German time trial championships, a massive one minute and 26 seconds ahead of Bert Grabasch. Lars Teutenberg was third, another 28s back.


Denis Menchov from Katusha Team became the Russian time trial champion for the first time in Veronezh. He finished one minute and 10 seconds ahead of Dmitriy Sokolov, with Valery Kaykov third.


Maciej Bodnar of Liquigas won the Polish national time trial for a second time, adding to his 2010 title with an eight-second win over former U23 champ Michal Kwiatkowski. Lukasz Bodnar, the winner’s brother and a 2007 champion, was third.


Time trial specialist Michael Hutchinson won the Irish championship ahead of Martyn Irvine and Nicolas Roche. Hutchinson was 35.51s ahead of Irvine.


Reidar Bohlin Borgersen was a surprise winner in Norway, coming in 11 and 42 seconds ahead of Team Sky duo Edvald Boasson Hagen and Lars Petter Nordhaug. Boasson Hagen, 25, had won the national championship five times in a row before Friday.


Jakob Fuglsang won his second national time trial title, coming in 41s ahead of Andre Steensen. Michael Morkov was third. Last year’s champion, Rasmus Quaade, did not take part as he is in Italy training for the Olympics.

United States

Julian Kyer won the US elite time trial championship, beating Tim Mitchell by 15 seconds. Brant Speed was third. The US has a separate competition for amateur and professional riders – David Zabriskie won the pro event at the end of May.


Svein Tuft won the Canadian time trial championship for the fifth time in a row and eighth in his career. As expected, he dominated the event in Lac-Megantic, beating Christian Meier by over two minutes. Hugo Houle was third.

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 21/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 1/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £300 Saturday 36/340 £1 £300 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter