Santner to captain New Zealand for India T20I series, Lister set for debut

Getty Images

Mitchell Santner will captain New Zealand in the upcoming Twenty20 International tour of India and Ben Lister could make his debut.

Spinning all-rounder Santner will lead the Black Caps in the absence of Kane Williamson and Tim Southee, who opted out of a three-match series that starts in Ranchi on January 27.

Left-arm seamer Lister has been called up to the squad for the first time, while paceman Henry Shipley is in line for a T20I debut after making his ODI bow against Pakistan this week.

Santner is among nine players selected who featured in last year's T20 World Cup in Australia, where New Zealand were knocked out at the semi-final stage.

Black Caps selector Gavin Larsen said of Lister's inclusion: "Ben has made an exciting impact for Auckland early in his career in red and white ball cricket. Since his debut in late 2017, he is the Aces' leading wicket taker in T20 and List A cricket.

"His ability to swing the ball considerably as a left-armer is particularly exciting."


New Zealand T20 squad for the tour of India: Mitchell Santner (captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.