Sergio Garcia hit five straight balls in the water at the Masters

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Sergio Garcia arrived at No. 15 at the Masters 2-over par. He left 10-over.

How did he get there? Let’s recap:

Shot 1: 322-yard driver, right down the middle, leaving him 205 yards to the pin
Shot 2: Water
Shot 3: Penalty
Shot 4: Water
Shot 5: Penalty
Shot 6: Water
Shot 7: Penalty
Shot 8: Water
Shot 9: Penalty
Shot 10: Water
Shot 11: Penalty
Shot 12: On the green
Shot 13: In the hole

That’s five shots in the water for a total of 13 — tied for the highest score ever on a hole at the Masters and likely the end of his defense of his 2017 victory.


Here’s a look at his shot sheet:

(Masters.com)
(Masters.com)

Good news is, he promptly birdied the next hole. So he’s got that going for him, which is nice.

More from Yahoo Sports:
Player breaks up no-hitter by breaking unwritten rule
Freakishly strong athlete has NFL teams’ attention
Jeff Passan: Rockies star’s deal shows how much MLB has changed
ESPN cuts to commercial at worst possible time

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes