Six changes for England as Cole recalled

England are set to make six changes to their starting XI for the World Cup qualifier against Poland in Warsaw, with Ashley Cole among those recalled.

World Cup - Injured Cole misses Montenegro showdown

View photo

Ashley Cole and Roy Hodgson

Cole comes in for Everton's Leighton Baines after the Chelsea left-back was dropped for the 5-0 win at home to San Marino on Friday.

Cole had launched a Twitter rant at the FA days before the match relating to the governing body's criticism of his evidence in the John Terry racism investigation. He has subsequently apologised and accepted a misconduct charge.

Liverpool's Glen Johnson returns from suspension to replace Tottenham's Kyle Walker at right-back while Manchester City centre-half Joleon Lescott is chosen ahead of Chelsea's Gary Cahill to partner Everton's Phil Jagielka.

Also reportedly recalled by Roy Hodgson are Manchester City wide man James Milner - for Arsenal's Theo Walcott, who was taken to hospital early in Friday's match at Wembley following a clash with goalkeeper Aldo Junior Simoncini - and Liverpool and England captain Steven Gerrard, who replaces the Gunners' Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain following a ban.

And in attack Tottenham's Jermain Defoe will partner Wayne Rooney with the latter's Manchester United team-mate Danny Welbeck dropping to the bench.

Cole and Gerrard will earn their 99th caps, with Manchester United midfielder Tom Cleverley playing wide on the left as Gerrard features alongside another Red Devil in Michael Carrick in the centre of midfield.

England sit top of Group H with seven points having beaten Moldova 5-0 away and drawn 1-1 at home to Ukraine in their first two matches.

Poland opened with a 2-2 daw at Montenegro then beat Moldova 2-0 at home. Currently third, a second ever win over the Three Lions would put them level on points with a game in hand.

England team: Hart; Johnson, Jagielka, Lescott, Cole; Milner, Gerrard, Carrick, Cleverley; Rooney, Defoe

View comments (47)