Six Nations - Michalak returns for France, Jackson starts for Ireland

Fly-half Frederic Michalak will start for France when they visit Ireland at the Aviva Stadium in the Six Nations on Saturday.

Six Nations - France drop Michalak, call up Plisson

View photo

France fly-half Frederic Michalak (AFP)

Michalak's return is one of three changes made to the team who lost 23-13 in England, their third defeat in as many games in the competition.

With Morgan Parra confirmed in the scrum half position for the Dublin game, France will start with a third different pairing of halves as they look for inspiration and experience.

Centre Florian Fritz is back in the number 13 position at the expense of Mathieu Bastareaud, who has a minor injury and will sit on the bench.

Versatile back Maxime Medard, who has not played for France since he injured his knee in last year's Six Nations match against Scotland, will start on the left wing.

"Frederic (Michalak) has not played much in the past three weeks. He found some freshness, his sensations are very good," Philippe Saint-Andre told a news conference.

"If you look at the last eight games, he started six of them so, yes, he's the number one choice as fly-half," he added. "It's natural to start him in Ireland."

France, who have endured their worst start since 1982 in the competition, seek a first victory after the defeats in Italy, at home against Wales and in England.

They host Scotland in their final game next week.

Ireland, meanwhile, have named Paddy Jackson at fly-half after the Ulster player recovered from a tight hamstring.

Ian Madigan had been on standby to replace Jackson for the game in Dublin, with usual fly-half Jonathan Sexton sidelined due to a hamstring injury, the Irish Football Union said in a statement.

The replacement tighthead position, which had been vacant, was given to uncapped Munster prop Stephen Archer.

Ireland team: 15-Rob Kearney, 14-Fergus McFadden, 13-Brian O'Driscoll, 12-Luke Marshall, 11-Keith Earls, 10-Paddy Jackson, 9-Conor Murray, 8-Jamie Heaslip (captain), 7-Sean O'Brien, 6-Peter O'Mahony, 5-Donnacha Ryan, 4-Mike McCarthy, 3-Mike Ross, 2-Rory Best, 1-Cian Healy

Replacements: 16-Sean Cronin, 17-David Kilcoyne, 18-Stephen Archer, 19-Donncha O'Callaghan, 20-Iain Henderson, 21-Eoin Reddan, 22-Ian Madigan, 23-Luke Fitzgerald.

France team: 15-Yoann Huget, 14-Vincent Clerc, 13-Florian Fritz, 12-Wesley Fofana, 11-Maxime Medard, 10-Frederic Michalak, 9-Morgan Parra, 8-Louis Picamoles, 7-Thierry Dusautoir, 6-Yannick Nyanga, 5-Yoann Maestri, 4-Christophe Samson, 3-Nicolas Mas, 2-Benjamin Kayser, 1-Thomas Domingo.

Replacements: 16-Guilhem Guirado, 17-Vincent Debaty, 18-Luc Ducalcon, 19-Sebastien Vahaamahina, 20-Antonie Claassen, 21-Maxime Machenaud, 22-Francois Trinh-Duc, 23-Mathieu Bastareaud.

View comments (12)