Smith left out of South Africa T20 squad

PA Sport
There is no place for Graeme Smith in South Africa's T20 squad

View photo

There is no place for Graeme Smith in South Africa's T20 squad

Test captain Graeme Smith is the highest-profile omission from South Africa's final 15-man squad for September's World Twenty20.

The powerful opening batsman missed the cut as the Proteas trimmed down their 30-man provisional squad.

Captain AB De Villiers is joined in the party by all-rounder Jacques Kallis and fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel, after all four sat out June's triangular T20 series against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

Marchant de Lange is absent from the bowling attack due to injury, while batsmen Colin Ingram and David Miller have been overlooked.

There is also no place for wicketkeeper Morne van Wyk, meaning De Villiers is certain to take the gloves as well as leading the side.

Selection convener Andrew Hudson said: "We were not able to consider Marchant de Lange through injury but we are confident that our squad will be very competitive and make South Africa proud.

"We have had basically the same squad together for the past year and many of them also produced stand-out performances at the Indian Premier League (IPL)."

South Africa World Twenty20 squad: AB de Villiers (capt), HM Amla, F Behardien, J Botha, JP Duminy, F du Plessis, JH Kallis, RE Levi, JA Morkel, M Morkel, JL Ontong, WD Parnell, RJ Peterson, DW Steyn, LL Tsotsobe.

View comments (0)