Snooker - Ding wins Scottish Open, McGill reaches first final

Ding Junhui won his first title of the season by beating local player Anthony McGill 4-2 in the final of the Scottish Open in Ravenscraig.

Snooker - Ding through after three centuries in Ireland

View photo

Ding Junhui

Breaks of 71 and 77 put Ding 2-1 up before a 66 from McGill levelled matters.

After the Glaswegian made 49 in frame five Ding came back to clinch it with a 40 clearance.

McGill, 21, missed a tricky yellow in the next frame and would not play another shot in his maiden professional final as Ding recorded a break of 71 to seal a first tournament victory since last season's Welsh Open.

"I played well this week, I made a lot of big breaks and concentrated in every game," said Ding. "I was a bit lucky tonight, the fifth frame was a big one.

"I've built a lot of confidence here and if I can keep my form going I can win more titles this season."

Earlier on Sunday he knocked six-times world champion Steve Davis out in the last 16 before disposing of Ian Burns then Ken Doherty.

McGill, meanwhile, beat Nigel Bond before 4-3 triumphs over Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon and Andrew Higginson.

He was 3-0 down in his quarter-final against the Thai and 3-1 behind against Higginson before coming back to win on a respotted black in the decider.

"I could have been out earlier, to get to the final is a personal best," McGill said. "But I missed too many easy pots in the end. It was my first time in a big arena and I'll deal with it better next time."

The Scottish Open served as event five in the Players Tour Championship, with the Munich Open on January 4-6 the next event in that series.


Last 16

Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 4-3 Barry Hawkins

Nigel Bond 1-4 Anthony McGill

Jimmy Robertson 1-4 Andrew Higginson

Kurt Maflin 3-4 Martin O'Donnell

Steve Davis 1-4 Ding Junhui

Ian Burns 4-2 Liang Wenbo

Mark Joyce 4-3 Gary Wilson

Ken Doherty 4-2 Ryan Day


Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 3-4 Anthony McGill

Andrew Higginson 4-2 Martin O'Donnell

Ding Junhui 4-1 Ian Burns

Mark Joyce 2-4 Ken Doherty


Anthony McGill 4-3 Andrew Higginson

Ding Junhui 4-2 Ken Doherty


Anthony McGill 2-4 Ding Junhui

View comments (5)