Snooker - O'Sullivan to return to tour for Wuxi Classic

Ronnie O’Sullivan will compete at the first event of the 2013/14 snooker season in China.

Snooker - O’Sullivan beaten on British return

View photo

ronnie o'sullivan

The world champion, who retained his title against Barry Hawkins earlier this month for a fifth career Crucible crown, has confirmed his entry to the Wuxi Classic and will take on Michael Wasley in round one.

O’Sullivan competed in just one professional contest between his two most recent world title wins, losing a Players Tour Championship opener to Simon Bedford 4-3.

Bedford, ironically, begins his Wuxi campaign against Hawkins, who reached his first ever world final in the defeat to ‘The Rocket’.

The field of 128 for the first round proper has yet to be finalised, with qualifiers taking place over the coming weeks in Gloucester.

Six-time world champion Steve Davis will play James Cahill, the nephew of seven-time winner Stephen Hendry, while defending champion Ricky Walden begins his title defence against rising star Pankaj Advani and Wuxi’s own Ding Junhui also starts off against an Indian representative, Aditya Mehta.

Wuxi Classic round one draw in full (pending qualifying results):

Ricky Walden v Pankaj Advani

Jimmy White v Lee Page

Mike Dunn v John Astley

Robert Milkins v Robbie Williams

Tom Ford v Scott Donaldson

Liu Chuang v Top Up 3

Jimmy Robertson v Ryan Clark

Graeme Dott v Qualifier 5

Mark Williams v Ross Muir

Barry Pinches v Liam Highfield

Tian Pengfei v Luca Brecel

Jack Lisowski v Hammad Miah

Ryan Day v Noppon Saengkham

Anthony Hamilton v Jamie O'Neill

Yu DeLu v Top Up 6

Stuart Bingham v Li Yan

Shaun Murphy v Alex Davies

Ian Burns v Joel Walker

Matthew Selt v Chen Zhe

Ben Woollaston v Top Up 5

Michael White v Sam Baird

Cao Yupeng v Paul Davison

Fergal O'Brien v Top Up 13

Barry Hawkins v Simon Bedford

Marco Fu v Daniel Wells

Nigel Bond v Christopher Norbury

Rory McLeod v Sean O'Sullivan

Mark King v Allan Taylor

Martin Gould v Top up 7

Kurt Maflin v Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon

Thepchaiya Un-Nooh v Top Up 12

Neil Robertson v Mohamed Khairy

Mark Selby v Andrew Pagett

David Gilbert v Jak Jones

Alan McManus v Top Up 11

Ken Doherty v Joe Swail

Joe Perry v Kyren Wilson

Jamie Cope v Zhang Anda

Jamie Burnett v Qualifier 10

Ding Junhui v Aditya Mehta

John Higgins v Top Up 1

Anthony McGill v Vinnie Calabrese

Dechawat Poomjaeng v Top Up 9

Dominic Dale v Top Up 2

Peter Ebdon v Qualifier 11

Xiao Guodong v Andrew Norman

Mark Joyce v Li Hang

Judd Trump v Top Up 10

Mark Allen v Michael Leslie

Peter Lines v Top Up 8

Steve Davis v James Cahill

Andrew Higginson v Patrick Einsle

Liang Wenbo v Qualifier 12

Jamie Jones v David Grace

Adam Duffy v Tony Drago

Matthew Stevens v Top Up 4

Allister Carter v Elliot Slessor

Alfie Burden v Stuart Carrington

Rod Lawler v Lyu Haotian

Marcus Campbell v Craig Steadman

Michael Holt v Qualifier 9

James Wattana v Gary Wilson

Gerard Greene v Martin O'Donnell

Ronnie O'Sullivan v Michael Wasley

View comments (3)