Spanish Grand Prix - Spanish GP: final starting grid

Blocking penalties for Felipe Massa and Esteban Gutierrez mean slight changes to the starting order for the Spanish Grand Prix.


Nico Rosberg gave Mercedes its third straight pole position, and this time the team took a front-row sweep with Lewis Hamilton alongside him.

The remaining top five positions went to Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso.

Felipe Massa had qualified the second Ferrari on row three alongside Alonso, but was judged to have impeded Mark Webber during Q2.

Massa therefore drops to ninth, elevating Romain Grosjean, Webber and Sergio Perez.

Also penalised for Esteban Gutierrez, in his case for blocking Raikkonen.

The Sauber falls from 16th to 19th, behind the two Williams and Giedo van der Garde's Caterham.

Jenson Button had accused Pastor Maldonado of blocking him in Q1, but the incident was not pursued by the stewards.

View comments (3)