Stats: Captains with the highest toss wins in cricket

GROS ISLET, SAINT LUCIA - APRIL 25: Ricky Ponting of Australia tosses the coin watched by Graeme Smith of South Africa, commentator Barry Richards and match referee Jeff Crowe during the ICC Cricket World Cup Semi Final match between Australia and South Africa at the Beausejour Cricket Ground on April 25, 2007 in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia. (Photo by Hamish Blair/Getty Images)

Ricky Ponting and Graeme Smith

The toss in cricket, while not the decisive factor, plays a very important role in deciding the outcomes of games.

Here is a compilation of the captains who have recorded the most number wins at the coin toss in Test matches, ODIs, T20 Internationals and overall.

Tests :

Recently retired South African captain Graeme Smith has had the most luck with the toss in Test cricket. The Proteas captain has won the toss 60 times out of the 109 he has been involved in. Here is a list of the top 5.


ODIs :

Aussie skipper Ricky Ponting was not only successful during the game in the limited overs format but before it too as it turns out. Ponting won 124 out of the 220 coin flips that he was part of. Here are the others who made it to the top 5.


T20 Internationals :

Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has had lady luck smiling on him at the toss in T20 Internationals. Dhoni has won the toss 22 times out of 37 occasions. Here is a list of the top 5.


Overall :

Ricky Ponting has had the most success at the toss overall. The former Aussie skipper won more than 50% of the tosses during his stint as captain followed by Graeme Smith and Stephen Fleming. Here is a list of the top 10.


Originally published on here

What to read next

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes