Still no action at Teahupo'o

A fifth consecutive lay day was called at Taiarapu as the Billabong Pro Teahupo'o continued to be affected by small surf.


View photo

There has been no action at Teahupo'o since the opening two days of the event.

Organisers are now looking at swell models for the final two days of the event window to see if the fifth stop on the ASP World Tour calendar can be completed.

"Today was projected to be one of the smaller days of the window and, as expected, the surf is not contestable,” Rich Porta, ASP international head judge, said.

"Sunday and Monday, the last two days of the waiting period, are still looking like our best options to finish in. However, we’ll be back tomorrow morning to assess conditions and update the call then."

When the event does get back under way, round three will see some of the biggest names in surfing in action.

Round three match-ups:

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)

Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)

Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)

Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)

Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)

Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)

Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)

Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)

Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)

Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)

View comments (0)