Suarez and Cavani set for fourth World Cup after Uruguay announce their squad

Getty Images

Veteran strikers Luis Suarez and Edinson Cavani have earned selection to their fourth consecutive World Cup, headlining Uruguay's squad announcement on Thursday.

Cavani, 35, was considered in doubt due to a recurring ankle injury, which has seen him complete a full 90 minutes just once this LaLiga season for Valencia.

Following that 90-minute performance, he was withdrawn just 18 minutes into Valencia's following game against Barcelona on October 29, and is yet to return.

Suarez, who is also 35, played in both September friendlies, contributing an assist in a 2-0 win against fellow World Cup qualifiers Canada to indicate he is still at the required level, despite playing his club football for Nacional in the Uruguayan First Division.

While the seasoned strike partnership will provide experience, Uruguay's squad also has a strong mix of younger emerging talent, headlined by 24-year-old Real Madrid star Federico Valverde.

Cavani and Valverde lead an impressive group joining the squad from LaLiga, which includes centre-backs Ronald Araujo from Barcelona and Atletico Madrid's Jose Gimenez.

Liverpool's Darwin Nunez, Tottenham's Rodrigo Bentancur and Manchester United's Facundo Pellistri are the squad's only Premier League representatives, while Napoli's Mathias Olivera, Roma's Matias Vina and Lazio's Matias Vecino represent Serie A.

Uruguay begin their campaign on November 24 against South Korea, before facing Portugal on November 28 and wrapping up Group H against Ghana on December 2.

Uruguay squad: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), Sergio Rochet (Nacional), Sebastián Sosa (Independiente); Ronald Araujo (Barcelona), Martín Caceres (LA Galaxy), Sebastian Coates (Sporting CP), Jose Gimenez (Atletico Madrid), Diego Godín (Velez Sarsfield), Mathias Olivera (Napoli), Jose Luis Rodriguez (Nacional), Guillermo Varela (Flamengo), Matias Vina (Roma); Giorgian de Arrascaeta (Flamengo), Rodrigo Bentancur (Tottenham), Nicolas de la Cruz (River Plate), Lucas Torreira (Galatasaray), Manuel Ugarte (Sporting CP), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Matías Vecino (Lazio); Agustín Cannobio (Athletico Paranaense), Edinson Cavani (Valencia), Maxi Gomez (Trabzonspor), Darwin Nunez (Liverpool), Facundo Pellistri (Manchester United), Luis Suarez (Nacional), Facundo Torres (Orlando City).