Super Rugby - Super Rugby set for expansion with two more teams

The governing body of Super Rugby plans to expand the 15-team competition by adding two more sides, including one from Argentina.

Rugby - Super Rugby may expand outside southern hemisphere

View photo

Super 15 rugby trophy generic

The southern hemisphere tournament currently includes five teams each from South Africa, New Zealand and Australia.

The SANZAR executive committee agreed on a "preferred model" during a meeting in Sydney on Thursday, it said in a statement.

"Today's meeting was another important step in deciding the future of Super Rugby," SANZAR chief executive Greg Peters said.

"Encouraging progress was made and we now have a preferred model that involves six teams from South Africa and a new team from Argentina.

"The model will now be taken to the National Unions for approval before SANZAR presents its final position to broadcasters and fans in due course."

View comments (2)