Superbike - Fabrizio domination continues

Michel Fabrizio continued his domination of the first weekend of the new World Superbike season by going quickest in the second qualifying session at Phillip Island.

Superbike - Fabrizio domination continues

View photo

2013 Superbike, Michel Fabrizio, Aprilia

The Italian, having already paced the opening day of action in Australia, went even quicker on Saturday morning to set a new lap record and emerge as favourite for the Superpole race.

He sped his Red Devils Roma Aprilia around in just 1min 30.387secs, breaking Carlos Checa's previous benchmark by half a second.

Fabrizio's effort was four tenths better than his nearest rival on the day Leon Camier, who ended Q2 ahead of Kawasaki's Tom Sykes.

Behind last year's pole sitter Sykes was Eugene Laverty with Marco Melandri, Sylvain Guintoli and Leon Haslam, while Carlos Checa, Jonathan Rea and Davide Giugliano completing the top 10 quickest riders.

Q2 times:

1. Michel Fabrizio ITA Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4 1m 30.387s

2. Leon Camier GBR Fixi Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 30.727s

3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 30.740s

4. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing RSV4 1m 30.826s

5. Marco Melandri ITA BMW GoldBet S1000RR HP4 1m 30.931s

6. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing RSV4 1m 30.961s

7. Leon Haslam GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR 1m 31.020s

8. Carlos Checa ESP Alstare Ducati 1199 R 1m 31.146s

9. Jonathan Rea GBR Pata Honda CBR1000RR 1m 31.353s

10. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Aprilia RSV4 1m 31.470s

11. Chaz Davies GBR BMW GoldBet S1000RR HP4 1m 31.526s

12. Loris Baz FRA Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 31.537s

13. Max Neukirchner GER MR Ducati 1199 R 1m 31.871s

14. Jamie Stauffer AUS Honda Racing CBR1000RR 1m 31.874s

15. Ivan Clementi ITA HTM Racing BMW S1000RR 1m 31.963s

Will not progress to Superpole:

16. Glenn Allerton AUS Next Gen BMW S1000RR 1m 32.352s

17. Jules Cluzel FRA Fixi Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 1m 32.402s

18. Alexander Lundh SWE Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 33.487s

19. Ayrton Badovini ITA Alstare Ducati 1199 R 1m 32.540s

20. Federico Sandi ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 32.898s

21. Vittorio Iannuzzo ITA Grillini Dentalmatic BMW S1000RR 1m 33.082s

View comments (0)