Surfing - Gilmore, Fitzgibbons into Margaret River Pro semis

Hopes of an all-Australian final of the Margaret River Pro are alive after Stephanie Gilmore and Sally Fitzgibbons advanced.

Surfing - Gilmore, Fitzgibbons into Margaret River Pro semis

View photo

Australia's Stephanie Gilmore (ASP)

The Australian ASP Women's World Championship Tour event reached the semi-finals stage, with the duo imperious as they won their last 16 and quarter-final match-ups.

Gilmore, the reigning women's world champion, downed Courtney Conlogue to set up a showdown Carissa Moore, while Fitzgibbons blasted past Alana Blanchard in her last eight, her 15.4 score the highest of the day.

“It feels like I’m building on each performance throughout this event,” Fitzgibbons said. “That felt like a great heat for me because it’s really challenging out there and I still found some scores. I like to be out there early, it wakes me up and gets me in the zone ready to compete.

"I haven’t been paying too much attention to who’s been getting through the heats, you kind of expect the big seeds to still be standing at this point of the event.”

In the men's event the competition stopped with the heats of the last 24 underway.

Seeds have continued to fall in a tournament full of upsets, with Jody Smith, Nat Young, Travis Logie, Tiago Pires, Filipe Toledo, Bede Durbridge and Raoni Monteiro the latest big names to fall by the wayside.

Four more Australians are looking to book themselves places in the head-to-heads, joining the likes of Jay Thompson, who top-scored with a 15.76 in his last-24 heat.


QF 1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 10.93 def. Courtney Conlogue (USA) 8.34

QF 2: Carissa Moore (HAW) 15.17 def. Coco Ho (HAW) 1.86

QF 3: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 15.40 def. Alana Blanchard (HAW) 4.77

QF 4: Tyler Wright (AUS) 13.17 def. Paige Hareb (NZL) 8.74


SF 1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Carissa Moore (HAW)

SF 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) vs. Tyler Wright (AUS)


HEAT 1: Kolohe Andino (USA) 16.27, Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.57, Chris Friend (AUS) 11.40, Gabe Kling (USA) 7.67

HEAT 2: Granger Larsen (HAW) 14.83, Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY) 10.66, Kiron Jabour (HAW) 10.57, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 5.07

HEAT 3: Adriano De Souza (BRA) 12.97, Adam Melling (AUS) 11.27, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 10.93, Nathan Yeomans (USA) 10.60

HEAT 4: Nathan Hedge (AUS) 13.93, Andrew Doheny (USA) 13.44, Jacob Willcox (AUS) 11.00, Billy Stairmand (NZL) 9.46

HEAT 5: Dion Atkinson (AUS) 15.27, Brian Toth (PRI) 14.43, Nat Young (USA) 12.93, Evan Geiselman (USA) 9.20

HEAT 6: Dusty Payne (HAW) 15.24, Jay Thompson (AUS) 13.00, Travis Logie (ZAF) 11.63, Keanu Asing (HAW) 10.17

HEAT 7: Alejo Muniz (BRA) 17.04, Jadson Andre (BRA) 12.83, Tiago Pires (PRT) 12.47, Luke Davis (USA) 11.83

HEAT 8: Marc Lacomare (FRA) 17.63, Caio Ibelli (BRA) 14.83, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 12.42, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.50

HEAT 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) 13.94, Jay Quinn (NZL) 12.30, Owen Wright (AUS) 8.84, Nic Von Rupp (DEU) 8.00

HEAT 10: Mitchel Coleborn (AUS) 12.80, Jean Da Silva (BRA) 11.90, Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 11.00, Olamana Eleogram (HAW) 10.44

HEAT 11: Tom Whitaker (AUS) 15.50, Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 15.07, Gony Zubizarreta (ESP) 14.60, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 14.27

HEAT 12: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 14.37, Glenn Hall (IRE) 12.10, Jack Freestone (AUS) 10.66, Ramzi Boukhiam (MAR) 8.60


HEAT 1: Kolohe Andino (USA) 12.00, Adam Melling (AUS) 11.87, Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY) 11.70

HEAT 2: Granger Larsen (HAW) 15.56, Adriano De Souza (BRA) 11.15, Julian Wilson (AUS) 9.57

HEAT 3: Jay Thompson (AUS) 15.76, Dion Atkinson (AUS) 15.06, Nathan Hedge (AUS) 8.23

HEAT 4: Dusty Payne (HAW) 11.77, Brian Toth (PRI) 11.20, Andrew Doheny (USA) 6.00


HEAT 5: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Caio Ibelli (BRA) vs. Jay Quinn (NZL)

HEAT 6: Marc Lacomare (FRA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)

HEAT 7: Mitchel Coleborn (AUS) vs. Glenn Hall (IRE) vs. Tom Whitaker (AUS)

HEAT 8: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Jean Da Silva (BRA) vs. Aritz Aranburu (EUK)

View comments (0)