Surfing - Moore and Payne win in Margaret River

Hawaiian duo Carissa Moore and Dusty Payne claimed victory at the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro in Western Australia.

Surfing - Moore and Payne win in Margaret River

View photo

Carissa Moore (HAW) winner of the 2013 Drug Aware Margaret River Pro, Tyler Wright runner-up and current ASP World No. 1. (ASP)

Moore claimed her first World Championship Tour win in over a year, showing how deadly she can be in big and powerful surf, by beating Tyler Wright in the final.

Australian Wright, who retains the top ranking in the world, posted an event high 9.50 in her semi-final win over Sally Fitzgibbons but got washed over shallow reef shortly after and severely corked her thigh.

The soreness in her leg and challenging conditions in the final held her back from unleashing her trademark turns and she had to settle for second place.

“I’m feeling really, really amazing right now!” said Moore.

"I’m stoked to walk away with the win and to be up on the podium again. I didn’t win an event last year, and it was hard for me, but it definitely fired me up. It’s only been two events and it’s already looking like it will be a close ASP Women’s World Title race, but there are girls who didn’t make it to the final day who are capable of causing upsets and winning events. It will be really interesting to see how it all pans out.”

The men's version was the first prime rated event for the 2013 season and Payne stormed through the draw to record his first major win.

He showcased his raw and powerful brand of surfing in the solid waves at Surfer’s Point and sealed his win with a 9.23 in the final against Australian Josh Kerr.

“I’ve never won anything before, this is sick!” Payne said.

“This is my first major win and this is an awesome event. I’m so glad to win in Western Australia, I love it over here! I was in good rhythm at the event, which never happens, lucky I guess. I’m just so stoked right now. I was injured for half of last year and had to sit on the sidelines and watch my friends surf and win events, and now here I am. It feels great.”


Carissa Moore (HAW) 11.00 def. Tyler Wright (AUS) 6.94


SF 1: Carissa Moore (HAW) 13.27 def. Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) 9.56

SF 2: Tyler Wright (AUS) 18.43 def. Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) 14.83


Dusty Payne (HAW) 16.36 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 13.20


SF 1: Dusty Payne (HAW) 18.00 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 17.16

SF 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) 11.33 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 9.43


QF 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 11.00 def. Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY) 8.27

QF 2: Dusty Payne (HAW) 13.17 def. Jay Thompson (AUS) 8.23

QF 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) 13.50 def. Jay Quinn (NZL) 13.20

QF 4: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 15.30 def. Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 14.50

View comments (0)