Surfing - Slater into last eight at Barra da Tijuca

Kelly Slater led the quarter finalists for the Billabong Rio Pro at Barra da Tijuca.

Surfing - Slater into last eight at Barra da Tijuca

View photo

Eleven-time world surfing champion Kelly Slater of the USA rides a wave (Reuters)

The 11-time ASP World champion drove through a deep tube in the opening moments of his round three bout against Patrick Gudauskas for a near-perfect 9.97 and backed up the ride with a similar score for a 19.67 heat total.

While Slater was unable to reproduce the same magic in round four, the veteran quickly rebounded to surpass Taj Burrow in a hard-fought round five clash to earn his position in the last eight.

“Taj (Burrow) definitely brings the best out in me,” Slater said. “I didn’t want to surf, the waves were terrible and the waves ended up getting good out there. Taj just had a couple of heats where he wanted to surf this year and the call didn’t go his way. He was decisive and I didn’t want to surf. They took a poll and the guys wanted to surf, so we went ahead with it. Taj started off with that barrel and I knew I had to do something. Luckily I was able to get that air reverse."

Filipe Toledo put together an immaculate alley-oop to air-reverse combination, securing a perfect 10-point ride for the round four effort. While Jordy Smith went on to earn a perfect 10 of his own in the same contest.

Event organisers will reconvene at 7am local time on Sunday and will crown a champion by day’s end.


Heat 1: Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.10 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 6.50

Heat 2: Nat Young (USA) 13.13 def. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 10.17

Heat 3: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 12.00 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 7.14

Heat 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 16.40 def. Travis Logie (ZAF) 11.77

Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 12.94 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 6.83

Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) 19.97 def. Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 10.01

Heat 7: Glenn Hall (IRL) 12.33 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.83

Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.43 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.17

Heat 9: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 17.47 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.34

Heat 10: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 18.43 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 10.67

Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.17 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 9.00

Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) 16.53 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 13.33


Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 15.90, Taj Burrow (AUS) 9.30, Nat Young (USA) 5.57

Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 12.77, Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.41, Kelly Slater (USA) 7.33

Heat 3: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 14.10, Michel Bourez (PYF) 11.84, Glenn Hall (IRL) 6.05

Heat 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA) 18.43, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 16.83, Mick Fanning (AUS) 13.20


Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) 15.10 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 14.03

Heat 2: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.20 def. Nat Young (USA) 11.20

Heat 3: Mick Fanning (AUS) 14.83 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 2.86

Heat 4: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 17.43 def. Glenn Hall (IRL) 13.63


QF 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kelly Slater (USA)

QF 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Gabriel Medina (BRA)

QF 3: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) vs. Mick Fanning (AUS)

QF 4: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)

View comments (0)