Surfing - Wilson marches into last eight at Margaret River Pro

World number three Julian Wilson leads the list of quarter-finalists at the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro.

Surfing - Wilson marches into last eight at Margaret River Pro

View photo

ulian Wilson (AUS) won through to the Quarterfinals of the Drug Aware Margaret River Pro even after scoring an interference today. (ASP)

The Australian won through two exciting heats, posting an event high 9.57 in his morning heat after unloading multiple under the lip snaps in maxing 8-to-10 foot surf.

In his second heat he was lucky to get past Kolohe Andino after suffering an interference in the first minute of the heat.

Andino was up and riding when Wilson dropped in and did a cutback, as a result Wilson lost half of his second scoring ride, but he still managed to amass enough points to defeat Andino and advance into the last eight.

Sunday will see the winners crowned in both the men’s and women’s divisions with excellent conditions predicted.



HEAT 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.74 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 11.54

HEAT 2: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY) 13.66 def. Adriano De Souza (BRA) 9.23

HEAT 3: Dion Atkinson (AUS) 13.50 def. Andrew Doheny (USA) 3.60

HEAT 4: Brian Toth (PRI) 13.43 def. Nathan Hedge (AUS) 8.83

HEAT 5: Jay Quinn (NZL) 13.83 def. Marc Lacomare (FRA) 11.13

HEAT 6: Josh Kerr (AUS) 12.93 def. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 12.90

HEAT 7: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 15.16 def. Glenn Hall (IRE) 11.54

HEAT 8: Tom Whitaker (AUS) 15.73 def. Jean Da Silva (BRA) 11.50


HEAT 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) 11.47 def. Kolohe Andino (USA) 10.34

HEAT 2: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY) 11.60 def. Granger Larsen (HAW) 7.16

HEAT 3: Jay Thompson (AUS) 12.67 def. Dion Atkinson (AUS) 9.00

HEAT 4: Dusty Payne (HAW) 16.34 def. Brian Toth (PRI) 7.24

HEAT 5: Jay Quinn (NZL) 18.20 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 12.74

HEAT 6: Josh Kerr (AUS) 15.10 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 9.43

HEAT 7: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 12.33 def. Mitchel Coleborn (AUS) 12.00

HEAT 8: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 14.77 def. Tom Whitaker (AUS) 14.67


QF 1: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY)

QF 2: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)

QF 3: Jay Quinn (NZL) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)

QF 4: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)


SF 1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Carissa Moore (HAW)

SF 2: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) vs. Tyler Wright (AUS)

View comments (0)