Surfing - Zietz wins Reef Hawaiian Pro, qualifies for 2013 tour

Kauai’s Sebastian Zietz clinched the first major win of his five-year pro surfing career at the Reef Hawaiian Pro as he secured his qualification for the 2013 ASP World Tour.

Surfing - Zietz wins Reef Hawaiian Pro, qualifies for 2013 tour

View photo

Sebastian Zietz in Hawaii (ASP)

The 24-year-old earned $40,000 in prize money and, as a result of the victory in long, overhead waves, now leads the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing series ratings.

Zietz shone after 20 minutes of the final against John John Florence, Fred Patacchia of Hawaii and Alejo Muniz of Brazil, having gradually built momentum in the showpiece contest.

Florence briefly threatened to come back with a late charge that included a near-perfect 9.2-point ride with a reverse 360 air, but Zietz was not to be denied as he answered back with a 9.43.

In addition to beating Florence in the final, Zietz also accounted for Sunny Garcia of Hawaii and Julian Wilson of Australia in what was a breakthrough performance from the Kauai surfer.

“Coming into Hawaii I was definitely feeling confident, feeling really confident in my boards,” said Zietz. “And you know, I’ve had a few injuries over the years, and they’re all healed up so I just believed in myself and I’m super stoked.

“I kept my head down and whoever I drew it didn’t matter, I was just in a heat against myself.”

Zietz has a start in the upcoming Vans World Cup at Sunset Beach, and will need to be in contention for the Vans Triple Crown title by its end to surf in the third stage at Pipeline.

Final result

1st – Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 17.76pts – $40,000

2nd – John John Florence (HAW) 14.70pts – $20,000

3rd – Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 13.50pts – $12,000

4th – Alejo Muniz (BRA) 8.70pts – $10,000


SF 1: Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 15.43pts ; Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 15.03pts ; Sunny Garcia (HAW) 11.36pts ; Kolohe Andino (USA) 9.07pts

SF 2: John John Florence (HAW) 18.00pts ; Alejo Muniz (BRA) 17.70pts ; Bede Durbidge (AUS) 17.27pts ; Tom Whitaker (AUS) 12.17pts


QF 1: Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 14.90pts ; Sunny Garcia (HAW) 13.10pts ; Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.87pts ; Brett Simpson (USA) 12.50pts

QF 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 11.17pts ; Kolohe Andino (USA) 11.16pts ; Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 9.07pts ; Cory Lopez (USA) 6.20pts

QF 3: John John Florence (HAW) 16.87pts ; Alejo Muniz (BRA) 13.27pts ; Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 12.13pts ; Jadson Andre (BRA) 2.80pts

QF 4: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.40pts ; Tom Whitaker (AUS) 11.10pts ; Perth Standlick (AUS) 9.20pts ; Dusty Payne (HAW) 8.10pts

View comments (0)