Sykes dominates Portimao superpole

Britain's Tom Sykes produced a storming performance to claim pole position for the World Superbike races at Portimao in Portugal.

Superbikes - Sykes: 'Massive weight off my shoulders'

View photo

Britain's Tom Sykes (AFP)

The Kawasaki man claimed his eighth Superpole victory in emphatic style, clocking a fastest lap of one minute 41.415 seconds, over a third of a second clear of world champion Carlos Checa.

Ireland's Eugene Laverty was third, while Marco Melandri completed the front row of the grid.

Championship leader Max Biaggi starts from the second row after he could only qualify fifth. He starts alongside three Britons - Leon Haslam, Jonathan Rea and Chaz Davies.

An unpredictable day of racing is expected on Sunday with rain forecast for the Algarve circuit.


1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'41.415

2. Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'41.780

3. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'41.789

4. Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'42.015

5. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'42.140

6. Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) BMW S1000 RR 1'42.271

7. Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'42.717

8. Chaz Davies (ParkinGO MTC Racing) Aprilia RSV4 Factory 1'43.459

9. Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'42.767

10. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'42.799

11. Sylvain Guintoli (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'42.995

12. Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'43.199

13. Brett McCormick (Team Effenbert Liberty Racing) Ducati 1098R 1'43.410

14. Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'43.483

15. Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia GoldBet) BMW S1000 RR 1'43.863

16. David Salom (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'44.479

17. Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike Team) Honda CBR1000RR 1'44.569

18. Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Racing Team) Ducati 1098R 1'44.790

19. John Hopkins (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) Suzuki GSX-R1000 1'44.865

20. Alexander Lundh (Team Pedercini) Kawasaki ZX-10R 1'45.158

21. Lorenzo Lanzi (Liberty Racing Team Effenbert) Ducati 1098R 1'45.682

22. Matteo Baiocco (Red Devils Roma) Ducati 1098R 1'46.344

23. Norino Brignola (Grillini Progea Superbike Team) BMW S1000 RR 1'46.891

View comments (0)