Tennis - Andy Murray signs for Bangkok in Premier Tennis League

Britain’s Andy Murray will represent Bangkok in a four-team contest for the International Premier Tennis League later this year.

Tennis - Andy Murray signs for Bangkok in Premier Tennis League

View photo

Britain's Andy Murray (Reuters)

Wimbledon champion Murray will join Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Victoria Azarenka, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, Kirsten Flipkens in the Bangkok team.

The line-ups were confirmed at the player auction which was held in Dubai with Singapore, Mumbai and Dubai also having teams.

Novak Djokovic will lead the Dubai side, with Pete Sampras and Rafael Nadal in the Mumbai team; meanwhile, Andre Agassi and Serena Williams head the Singapore line-up.

It’s understood that £14 million in all was spent on the 28 players to be sold in the auction with 70 stars having put their names forward for bidding.

The players who were left unsold included recent Australian Open champion Stanislas Wawrinka, David Ferrer and Agnieszka Radwanska with team owners limited to price and numbers.

The competition will consist of 24 matches played between November 28 and December 13 with each encounter made up of a men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, mixed doubles and legends’ singles – one set per contest.

View photo


All four teams will compete in one of the cities over a three-day stint before moving on to the next in a roadshow format.

Each match will be decided according to the total games won by the respective teams with a tie-break coming into the equation if the score reaches 5-5 in a set.

The fixtures will see teams compete in Singapore (November 28-30), Bangkok (December 2-4), Mumbai (December 7-9) and lastly Dubai (December 11-13).

The current squads (team owners are still able to make 10 additions)

Singapore: Tomas Berdych, Andre Agassi, Lleyton Hewitt, Serena Williams, Bruno Soares, Patrick Rafter, Daniela Hantuchova, Nick Krygios

Bangkok: Andy Murray, Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Victoria Azarenka, Daniel Nestor, Carlos Moya, Kirsten Flipkens

Mumbai: Rafael Nadal, Gael Monfils, Pete Sampras, Rohan Bopanna, Ana Ivanovic, Sania Mirza, Fabrice Santoro

Dubai: Novak Djokovic, Caroline Wozniacki, Goran Ivanisevic, Janko Tipsarevic, Nenad Zimonic, Malek Jaziri, Martina Hingis

View comments (24)