Tennis - Ferrer moves on in Buenos Aires

Top seed David Ferrer booked a place in the second round of the Copa Claro with a hard-fought 7-6(7) 6-4 opening win over Maximo Gonzalez.

Tennis - Ferrer books quarter-final ticket in Rio

View photo

David Ferrer

The Spanish world number five, twice winner of the title at the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club and current defending champion, was pushed all the way in a tight first set, which was eventually settled by a tie-break.

The second set was also evenly-matched but red-dirt specialist Ferrer crucially broke twice to Argentine Gonzalez's once and claimed victory in just over two hours on court.

Ferrer, who was also runner-up in Buenos Aires in 2010, will next play Santiago Giraldo of Colombia, who beat Spain's Albert Montanes 7-6(4) 6-2.

There was also a win for the in-form Fabio Fognini, the second seeded Italian beating Germany's Julian Reister 7-5 6-2.

Fognini, who won last week's opening tournament of the Latin American clay-court swing in Vina del Mar, will now meet home hope Leonardo Mayer, who downed fellow Argentine Facundo Argueello 6-3 6-4.

Buenos Aires Open results

First round

Albert Ramos (Spain) beat 7-Juan Monaco (Argentina) 6-7(3) 6-4 6-2

1-David Ferrer (Spain) beat Maximo Gonzalez (Argentina) 7-6(7) 6-4

Filippo Volandri (Italy) beat Christian Garin (Chile) 5-7 6-0 6-3

6-Robin Haase (Netherlands) beat Martin Alund (Argentina) 6-4 6-7(6) 6-3

Santiago Giraldo (Colombia) beat Albert Montanes (Spain) 7-6(4) 6-2

2-Fabio Fognini (Italy) beat Julian Reister (Germany) 7-5 6-2

Leonardo Mayer (Argentina) beat Facundo Argueello (Argentina) 6-3 6-4

Memphis International results

First round

Alex Bogomolov Jr (Russia) beat 6-Sam Querrey (U.S.) 2-6 6-4 7-6(7)

Ryan Harrison (U.S.) beat Bjoern Phau (Germany) 6-3 6-4

Jack Sock (U.S.) beat Adrian Mannarino (France) 7-5 1-6 7-6(5)

Alex Kuznetsov (U.S.) beat David Goffin (Belgium) 6-4 6-3

Benjamin Becker (Germany) beat Lukas Lacko (Slovakia) 6-3 6-2

Marcos Baghdatis (Cyprus) beat Rajeev Ram (U.S.) 6-3 6-4

8-Mikhail Kukushkin (Kazakhstan) beat Teymuraz Gabashvili (Russia) 7-6(9) 7-5

Ivo Karlovic (Croatia) beat Matthew Ebden (Australia) 7-5 6-4

View comments (1)