Advertisement

Tilda Swinton, Brian Cox and ‘Saltburn’ Star Alison Oliver Items Up for Auction to Aid Palestinians in Gaza

Tilda Swinton, Ken Loach and Brian Cox are among the British film and TV VIPs contributing to an online auction to raise money for humanitarian relief for Palestinians in Gaza.

Among the auction lots to bid on are an online bedtime story read by Swinton; tickets to Cox’s London stage performance of A Long Day’s Journey Into Night, including a meet and greet with the Succession star; and a walk-on part in the new film from Bend It Like Beckham director Gurinder Chadha.

More from The Hollywood Reporter

Directors Mike Leigh, Asif Kapadia and Joanna Hogg, and actors including Harris Dickinson (The Iron Claw), Alison Oliver (Saltburn) and Aimee Lou Wood (Sex Education), are also taking part in the auction, which will raise money for Medical Aid for Palestinians (MAP), a U.K.-based nonprofit that provides medical and humanitarian aid for Palestinians in Gaza.

The auction was set up by Cinema for Gaza, an organization launched by a group of U.K.-based filmmakers and film journalists: Hanna Flint, Julia Jackman, Leila Latif, Sophie Monks Kaufman and Helen Simmons.

Among the other auction lots are signed copies by Loach of the poster and script to his latest (and perhaps last) film, The Old Oak; a rare neon light from the set of Hogg’s The Souvenir; and a “Zoom serenade of a song of your choice” from It’s a Sin actor and Eurovision contender Olly Alexander.

The auction will be live from 9 a.m. U.K. time / 1 a.m. PT / 4 a.m. ET on April 2 until midnight U.K. time / 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET on April 12. All proceeds go directly to MAP.

You can check out the auction here.

On Monday, the United Nations Security Council passed a ceasefire resolution calling for an immediate ceasefire in Gaza and the release of all Israeli hostages held in the region. The U.S. abstained from the vote, but did not veto the resolution as it has done with similar motions in the past.

A March 18 report from the Integrated Food Security Phase Classification (IPC), the primary organization tracking food insecurity worldwide, warned that the humanitarian situation in Gaza is catastrophic, with northern Gaza facing imminent famine and the rest of the strip also at risk.

Best of The Hollywood Reporter