Toronto Maple Leafs' Mitch Marner, Oilers' Leon Draisaitl highlight full NHL All-Star Weekend rosters

Sporting News

The NHL's Hockey Operations Department on Monday named 37 players to four All-Star teams across the league's divisions.

The announced players will play alongside each division's captains, who were named in an announcement on Dec. 21 . David Pastrnak (Atlantic), Nathan MacKinnon (Central) and Connor McDavid (Pacific) were selected as captains by an online fan vote and will lead their teams in the 2020 NHL All-Star skills competition on Jan. 24 and three-on-three tournament Jan. 25. Washington Capitals superstar Alex Ovechkin was originally named the Metropolitan division team's captain, but he announced on Dec. 27 that he will not participate in All-Star festivities in favor of resting his body and preparing for the regular season's stretch run.

The 2010s: Crosby named NHL Athlete of the Decade | NHL All-Decade Team

Scroll to continue with content

13 players — including Calgary Flames forward Matthew Tkachuk and St. Louis Blues goalie Jordan Binnington — will participate in All-Star weekend for the first time in their careers this January. Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane (ninth All-Star selection) is the most senior player currently named to one of the four teams.

In addition to these players, the NHL conducted its All-Star Last Men In fan vote to allow fans to select the final players on each All-Star roster. Mitch Marner, T.J. Oshie, David Perron and Quinn Hughes managed to squeeze through thanks to the fans.

On Jan. 3, the NHL announced Bruce Cassidy (Boston), Todd Reirden (Washington), Craig Berube (St. Louis) and Gerard Gallant (Vegas) will coach the four teams . All-Star Weekend coaches are selected from the team with the highest points percentage (points earned divided by total possible points) in each division through Jan. 2, the halfway point of the regular season.

Let's take a look at the league's four All-Star teams for each division.

Atlantic Division

Boston Bruins head coach Bruce Cassidy will coach the Atlantic.



David Pastrnak

Boston Bruins

Andrei Vasilevskiy

Tampa Bay Lightning

Jack Eichel

Buffalo Sabres

Tyler Bertuzzi

Detroit Red Wings

Jonathan Huberdeau

Florida Panthers

Shea Weber

Montreal Canadiens

Anthony Duclair

Ottawa Senators

Victor Hedman

Tampa Bay Lightning

Frederik Andersen

Toronto Maple Leafs

Brady Tkachuk

Ottawa Senators

Mitch Marner

Toronto Maple Leafs

Vasilevskiy was selected to replace Boston Bruins netminder Tuukka Rask on Jan. 13.

Auston Matthews was replaced by Brady Tkachuk on Jan. 22 due to a wrist injury.

Metropolitan Division

Washington Capitals head coach Todd Reirden will coach the Metropolitan team.



Jaccob Slavin

Carolina Hurricanes

Seth Jones

Columbus Blue Jackets

Tristan Jarry

Pittsburgh Penguins

Nico Hischier

New Jersey Devils

Mathew Barzal

New York Islanders

Chris Kreider

New York Rangers

Travis Konecny

Philadelphia Flyers

Kris Letang

Pittsburgh Penguins

John Carlson

Washington Capitals

Braden Holtby

Washington Capitals

T.J. Oshie

Washington Capitals

Washington Capitals superstar Alex Ovechkin was originally named the Metropolitan division team's captain, but he will not participate in this year's festivities. Pittsburgh Penguins goaltender Tristan Jarry and defenseman Kris Letang were added to the roster as replacements for injured All-Stars Joonas Korpisalo (Columbus) and Jake Guentzel.

Central Division

St. Louis Blues head coach Craig Berube will coach the Central team.



Patrick Kane

Chicago Blackhawks

Nathan MacKinnon

Colorado Avalanche

Tyler Seguin

Dallas Stars

Eric Staal

Minnesota Wild

Roman Josi

Nashville Predators

Ryan O'Reilly

St. Louis Blues

Jordan Binnington

St. Louis Blues

David Perron

St. Louis Blues

Jordan Binnington

St. Louis Blues

Connor Hellebuyck

Winnipeg Jets

Mark Scheifele

Winnipeg Jets

Pacific Division

Gerard Gallant will coach the Pacific team.



Dave Rittich

Calgary Flames

Matthew Tkachuk

Calgary Flames

Mark Giordano

Calgary Flames

Connor McDavid

Edmonton Oilers

Leon Draisaitl

Edmonton Oilers

Anze Kopitar

Los Angeles Kings

Tomas Hertl

San Jose Sharks

Elias Pettersson

Vancouver Canucks

Jacob Markstrom

Vancouver Canucks

Quinn Hughes

Vancouver Canucks

Max Pacioretty

Vegas Golden Knights

Jacob Markstrom replaced Vegas Golden Knights goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury on the roster after Fleury pulled out of the game for undisclosed reasons.

The NHL will hold its annual All-Star weekend on Jan. 24-25 at the St. Louis Blues' Enterprise Center in St. Louis, Mo.

What to read next