Tour de France - Vacansoleil-DCM name all rounders

Vacansoleil-DCM are bidding for stage victories at the Tour de France after naming a team of all rounders.

Vuelta a España - Vacansoleil name Vuelta squad

View photo

Lieuwe Westra, Vacansoleil 2013

Dutchmen Wout Poels, Johnny Hoogerland, Lieuwe Westra and Boy and Danny van Poppel are joined by Belgians Thomas De Gendt and Kris Boeckmans plus former stage winner Juan Antonio Flecha and Sergey Lagutin.

De Gendt, who was third at the 2012 Giro d’Italia, will be the team's main GC hope while Poels has been prominent in major stage races this year after a serious crash in last year’s Tour.

Hoogerland missed the complete spring season after he was knocked off his bike, leaving him with fractured ribs and a bruised liver. But the man, who wore the mountains jersey in the 2011 Tour, returns.

Spaniard Flecha will be appearing in his tenth Tour de France while the van Poppel brothers and multiple Uzbek national champion Lagutin make their debuts.

The 100th Tour de France begins in Corisca on June 29.

View comments (6)