Tour de France: Vingegaard set for maiden title, Van Aert clinches stage 20 time-trial

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2-min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Jonas Vingegaard is poised to win his first Tour de France title on Sunday after all-but finishing off the job in a stage 20 time trial that was won by Wout van Aert.

Vingegaard's Team Jumbo–Visma team-mate Van Aert produced a stunning ride to win the 40.7km stage from Lacapelle-Marival to Rocamadour on Saturday.

Dane Vingegaard - who went into penultimate stage with a near three-and-a-half minute lead over rival Tadej Pogacar - crossed the line 19 seconds slower than Van Aert in second spot, but eight quicker than the third-placed two-time defending champion.

Vingegaard is set to secure the general classification title in Paris and was understandably emotional after finishing the time trial, embracing his wife as the scale of his achievement sunk in.

It could have been a very different story though, as Vingegaard came within inches of crashing in the closing stages, with his tyres clipping a grass verge and almost hitting a wall.

Geraint Thomas, who sits third in the GC standings, also put in a strong showing, finishing in fourth place.

Jumbo–Visma in a class of their own

Today's win for Van Aert made it three successive stage victories with three different riders for Team Jumbo-Visma.

With Vingegaard winning the yellow and polka dot jerseys and Van Aert taking the green, as well as recording six stage wins in all with one still to go, it has been quite the few weeks for the team.


1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 00:47:59
2. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) +0:19
3. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +0:27
4. Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) +0:32
5. Filippo Ganna (INEOS Grenadiers) +0:42


General Classification

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 76:33:57
2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) +3:34
3. Geraint Thomas (INEOS Grenadiers) +8:13

Points Classification

1. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 480
2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) 250
3. Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) 236

King of the Mountains

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 72
2. Simon Geschke (Cofidis) 64
3. Giulio Ciccone (Trek–Segafredo) 61

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting