Road World Championships 2019 LIVE: Annemiek van Vleuten wins road race title with stunning 100km attack

Lawrence Ostlere
The Independent

Dutchwoman Annemiek van Vleuten produced one of the greatest solo rides ever seen at the UCI Road World Championships to storm to victory in the women's road race on Saturday.

Team mate Anna van der Breggen made it a Dutch one-two with Australia's Amanda Spratt in third.

The 36-year-old Van Vleuten attacked on the second climb of the day in the Yorkshire Dales and rode on her own for 105km of the 149km, never wavering as she powered to the gold medal.

Scroll to continue with content

A chasing group of five, including local favourite Lizzie Deignan, appeared powerless as Van Vleuten disappeared down the road, although young American Chloe Dygert, winner of the time trial, made a late attempt to reel in Van Vleuten.

After the first of three 14km circuits around Harrogate she had cut the gap to less than two minutes but could not sustain her attack as Van Vleuten rode away in the sunshine.

The 22-year-old Dygert, who outclassed the Dutch in the time trial, paid a heavy price for her effort and was a spent force on the final circuit as Van der Breggen and Spratt overtook her.

The relentless Van Vleuten, who suffered a horrific crash when leading the Olympic road race in 2016, avoided any mishaps as she turned the final few kilometres into a lap of honour and was roared on the final uphill straight by huge crowds.

Van der Breggen was a little over two minutes behind.

Spratt appeared to have cracked with 5km left, allowing last year's winner Van der Breggen to surge ahead, but she had just enough left to deny Dygert a second medal of the week.

Follow it live:

Here is everything you need to know.

  • Read more

What time does it start?

The race begins at around 11.30pm, and should be wrapped up shortly after 4pm.


Vos has been in such scintillating form this season and won the Tour de Yorkshire in May. She will be too strong for the rest. But as yesterday’s drama showed, almost anything can happen.

What are the road closures around Yorkshire?


Race arrival

Road closure



5am to 2pm



11:20am to 12:30pm


12:01pm to 12:02pm

11:20am to 12:30pm


12:06pm to 12:08pm

11:30am to 12:30pm


12:11pm to 12:13pm

11:30am to 12:30pm

Norwood Edge Summit

12:17pm to 12:20pm

11:40am to 12:40pm

Menwith Hill

12:26pm to 12:32pm

12pm to 1pm


12:34pm to 12:40pm

12:10pm to 1:10pm

Pateley Bridge

12:42pm to 12:50pm

12:10pm to 1:20pm

Lofthouse Summit

1:04pm to 1:14pm

11am to 3pm


1:21pm to 1:35pm

12:50pm to 2pm


1:22pm to 1:36pm

12:50pm to 2pm

West Tanfield

1:31pm to 1:47pm

1pm to 2:10pm

North Stainley

1:35pm to 1:52pm

1pm to 2:30pm

North Lees

1:40pm to 1:58pm

1pm to 2:30pm


1:44pm to 2:02pm

1:15pm to 2:30pm


2:02pm to 2:24pm

1:30pm to 2:45pm

Bishop Thornton

2:04pm to 2:25pm

1:30 to 3pm

Shaw Mills

2:05pm to 2:27pm

1:30pm to 3pm


2:12pm to 2:35pm

1:40pm to 3pm


2:16pm to 2:29pm

1:40pm to 3pm

A59 Skipton Road

2:23pm to 2:47pm

1:50pm to 3:10pm

New Park

2:25pm to 2:50pm

1:50pm to 3:10pm

Ripon Road sector

12noon to 5:10pm

Harrogate Circuit 1

2:29pm to 2:54pm

12noon to 5:10pm

Harrogate Circuit 2

2:48pm to 3:17pm

12noon to 5:10pm

Harrogate Circuit 3

3:08pm to 3:50pm

12noon to 5:10pm

Join us here later for live updates from the race.

What to read next