Vacansoleil names Tour squad

Vacansoleil-DCM has named its Tour de France team, with Kris Boeckmans set for his debut in the most famous of the grand tours.


The Dutch team’s multinational line-up has no obvious leader but Johnny Hoogerland is expected to contest for stage victories, while new Netherlands national time trial champion Lieuwe Westra - who won stage five of the Paris-Nice - is also a major feature.

Belgian Boeckmans, 25, makes his Tour de France debut after joining Vacansoleil for this season.

Kenny van Hummel, Wout Poels and Rob Ruijgh complete the Dutch contingent, with Sweden’s Paris-Nice stage winner Gustav Larsson, Italian Marco Marcato and Spaniard Rafael Valls also named in the nine-man squad.

Thomas de Gendt is not in the squad as he is due to get married this summer, so has opted to skip the tour.

The Belgian won stage 20 at this May’s Giro d’Italia, finishing third overall, and also won a stage at Paris-Nice.

It is Vacansoleil's second outing at the Tour de France.

"We’ve made another step forward," sports director Hilaire Van der Schueren said at the press conference at NAC Breda’s football stadium.

"That’s why our line-up is a little bit different in comparison with last year. During the Tour we would like to show our next improvement.

"The classifications and jerseys are not our main goals. We want to win a stage again, like we did in the Giro d’Italia and (last year) in the Vuelta."

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £300 Saturday 135/340 £1 £300 Today 3:00 PM Enter
    Premier League £250 Saturday 23/57 £5 £250 Today 3:00 PM Enter
    PL £1 Learn To Play [No Risk] 59/150 £1 £180 Today 3:00 PM Enter