W Series reveals full FIA superlicence points breakdown for 2020

Adam Cooper
W Series reveals full superlicence points breakdown
W Series reveals full superlicence points breakdown

The W Series has announced the full breakdown of the FIA superlicence points that will be awarded to the top eight finishers in the 2020 championship.

The series has been allocated a scoring system of 15-12-10-7-5-3-2-1 by the FIA.

Scroll to continue with content

This puts it on a par with the NASCAR Cup, Indy Lights, Formula Renault Eurocup, Euroformula Open, Super Formula Lights, Supercars and WTCR.

"We're delighted that the FIA has made the decision to award superlicence points to W Series' most successful drivers from the 2020 season onwards, thereby adding to the importance of W Series as a 'feeder' series for female drivers who aspire to race in more senior championships," said W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir.

"Indeed, now that the first eight in the W Series championship will accrue superlicence points, W Series has become an even more important rung on the motorsport ladder for female drivers whose ambition is to race and one day beat male drivers in the FIA Formula 3 championship, which is logically the next rung on the ladder for them, and beyond."

W Series advisory board chairman David Coulthard said: "Personally, I'm delighted that W Series has been further recognised by the FIA via the allocation of superlicence points, the holy grail in any driver's aspiration to become a Formula 1 driver.

"Irrespective of where our current W Series drivers may race in future, the FIA's decision confirms my absolute belief that W Series is essential in developing female talent and giving female drivers the opportunity to develop their skills so as to become successful professional racing drivers in the future."

Get unlimited access to the world’s best motorsport journalism with Autosport Plus

What to read next