Wichita State unanimously voted into AAC, per report

The Missouri Valley Conference may be getting a little smaller very soon.

Wichita State’s hold over the NCAA Tournament just got a little bit stronger, while the Missouri Valley Conference’s just got a little weaker.

The Shockers reportedly have been unanimously voted into the American Athletic Conference as of Friday morning, according to Sports Illustrated.

The Shockers accepted the invitation to the conference Friday morning.

Wichita State finished the season 31-5 with its season coming to an end in the second round of the NCAA Tournament with a loss to Kentucky.

The AAC includes Connecticut, Cincinnati, Central Florida, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, South Florida, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa and Navy. Navy is a football-only member.

With the pending departure of the Shockers, the MVC will now consist of Illinois State, Southern Illinois, Northern Iowa, Loyola, Missouri State, Bradley, Evansville, Indiana State and Drake.

The Shockers will participate in AAC play for the '17-'18 season.

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes