World Cup Final 2018: What date is the fixture, what TV channel is it on and are tickets still available?

Telegraph Sport
The Telegraph
Who will lift the World Cup trophy? - AFP
Who will lift the World Cup trophy? - AFP

The 2018 World Cup is almost upon us - it starts on June 14 - and all roads lead to Moscow as 32 teams do battle to be crowned champions of the world in Russia.

In the 20 previous World Cups held thus far, 77 nations have appeared at least once. Of these, 12 have made it to the final and eight have won, with Brazil claiming five titles, Italy and Germany four, Uruguay and Argentina two and England, France and Spain one each.

The current champions, Germany, claimed their fourth title in 2014, in Brazil, becoming the first European team to win in South America.

Last December's draw put England in Group G with Belgium, Tunisia and Panama and all three of the games have been scheduled at times which will please office workers country-wide.

Let the games begin...

When is the World Cup Final?

It will be held on Sunday, July 15, 2018.

What time does it start?

The final will kick off at 4pm BST. That's 6pm local time if you're in Russia.

Where will the final take place?

The Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow will host the finale to the 2018 World Cup. Russia's sporting Mecca has previously hosted the 1980 Olympics, 1999 Uefa Cup Final and 2008 Champions League Final.

Rugby 2019 World Cup predictor
Rugby 2019 World Cup predictor

What TV channel is it on?

UK viewers will be able to choose between ITV and the BBC - adverts or no adverts? 

How do I get tickets?

Unfortunately, but probably nor surprisingly, the World Cup Final is currently sold out, but if any tickets become available on resale they will cost £750, £485 and £311 for the various categories.

Complete World Cup fixtures and schedule

Russia 2018 schedule
Russia 2018 schedule

What happened in the 2014 final?

Germany 1 Argentina 0 (aet)

Germany were crowned world champions for the fourth time as Mario Gotze's extra-time winner beat Argentina.

Gotze chested down Andre Schurrle's pass and swept in a left-foot finish with the prospect of a penalty shootout only seven minutes away.

Argentina, with skipper Lionel Messi looking subdued, could not respond and Germany claimed their first World Cup since they beat the same opponents in Rome 24 years ago.

The success meant Joachim Low's side became the first European team to win the trophy in South America.

Who will win the 2018 World Cup?

What to read next