World Rugby Awards: Former winners Johnny Sexton and Antoine Dupont among those nominated for men’s player of the year

 Credit: Alamy
Credit: Alamy

There are two former winners on the shortlist of four nominees for the 2022 World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year.

Ireland captain Johnny Sexton claimed the award in 2018 and is back on the list this year alongside 2021 winner, France’s Antoine Dupont.

Sexton is joined by Ireland team-mate Josh van der Flier while South Africa’s linchpin Lukhanyo Am is also there.

Ultimate accolade

World Rugby chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “The World Rugby Awards are the ultimate accolades for rugby, and we are delighted to honour the outstanding players and individuals who have made an impact on our game on and off the field in 2022.

“On behalf of World Rugby, I would like to congratulate all nominees of this 22nd edition for their incredible achievements over the past calendar year. Not only have they showcased tremendous rugby skills, but they have also inspired millions of fans around the world helping spread the values of our sport.

“I am looking forward to host the global rugby family next Sunday under the high patronage of HSH Princess Charlene of Monaco and the Principality for a night of celebration in Monte-Carlo.”

For the second year in a row, there are no nominees from New Zealand in the men’s 15s player of the year category, although Portia Woodman and Ruahei Demant are up for women’s award.

Ireland are well-represented throughout with Andy Farrell among those to be nominated for coach of the year, with Dan Sheehan and Mack Hansen on the list for breakthrough player.

2022 World Rugby awards nominees

World Rugby Women’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year

Maud Muir (ENG)
Vitalina Naikore (FIJ)
Maiakawanakaulani Roos (NZL)
Ruby Tui (NZL)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year

Henry Arundell (ENG)
Ange Capuozzo (ITA)
Mack Hansen (IRE)
Dan Sheehan (IRE)

World Rugby Coach of the Year

Andy Farrell (Ireland Men’s 15s)
Fabien Galthié (France Men’s 15s)
Simon Middleton (England Women’s 15s)
Wayne Smith (New Zealand Women’s 15s)

International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year

Sylvia Brunt (New Zealand v Wales on 16 October)
Emily Chancellor (Australia, v England on 30 October)
Abby Dow (England v Canada on 5 November)
Linda Djougang (Ireland, v Wales on 26 March)
Nomawethu Mabenge (South Africa, v Spain on 12 August)

International Rugby Players Men’s Try of the Year

Rodrigo Fernandez (Chile, v USA on 9 July)
Lalakai Foketi (Australia v France on 5 November)
Chris Harris (Scotland, v Italy on 12 March)
Edoardo Padovani (Italy, v Wales on 19 March)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Wales, v South Africa on 2 July)

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Charlotte Caslick (AUS)
Maddison Levi (AUS)
Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe (IRE)
Faith Nathan (AUS)

World Rugby Men’s Sevens Player of the Year

Terry Kennedy (IRE)
Nick Malouf (AUS)
Kaminieli Rasaku (FIJ)
Corey Toole (AUS)

World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year</b?

Antoine Dupont (FRA)
Johnny Sexton (IRE)
Lukhanyo Am (RSA)
Josh van der Flier (IRE)

World Rugby Women’s 15s Player of the Year

Sophie de Goede (CAN)
Ruahei Demant (NZL)
Alex Matthews (ENG)
Laure Sansus (FRA)
Portia Woodman (NZL)

READ MORE: Autumn Nations Series Team of the Week: France dominate while Italy also rewarded

The article World Rugby Awards: Former winners Johnny Sexton and Antoine Dupont among those nominated for men’s player of the year appeared first on