WTCC - Michelisz seals Yokohama Trophy

Norbert Michelisz won the Yokohama Trophy after Darryl O’Young won both WTCC races in Macau.

WTCC - Michelisz seals Yokohama Trophy

View photo

2012 Slovakia BMW Michelisz

The Guia circuit is a treacherous track and all the three drivers who were aiming to become champion – Michelisz, Pepe Oriola and Stefano D’Aste – were involved in different incidents that left them out of the points.

It was a well deserved triumph for the young Hungarian and the Zengö Motorsport team at the end of a season in which they claimed victory at the Hungaroring, two other podium finishes and sixth position in the title race.

Michelisz said: “At the beginning of the season we had three targets: to finish higher than ninth in the Drivers’ Championship, to win an overall race and to claim the Yokohama Trophy.

"We have achieved them all, and for this I am very happy for myself and for the team. Although I must say that the end of the season has left a bad taste in my mouth.

"In the three latest events I have scored only five points and today I had the pace to finish the second race in second place, but Pepe Oriola made a mistake and spoiled my race and his.”

View comments (0)