WTCC - Monza has 25 cars on the grid

Twenty-five cars have been entered by 15 teams in the World Touring Car Championship season opener that takes place at Monza, Italy, on March 24.

WTCC - Monza has 25 cars on the grid

View photo


The entry list features cars built by five different Manufacturers: BMW (8), SEAT (7), Chevrolet (5), Honda (3) and LADA (2).

Twenty-four are full season entries - only ANOME’s BMW was entered on a race-by-race basis.

FIA President Jean Todt commented: “It is very rewarding for the FIA to see that the WTCC has attracted such a field and the interest of important car manufacturers.

"Quantity and quality are both there, meaning that we should expect exciting races and a close fight for the title.

"This success is the best evidence that the joint effort put in by the FIA and championship promoter Eurosport Events are actually paying off."

After Monza, the World Championship will visit eleven other countries over four continents. The season’s finale will be at Macau on November 17.

View comments (0)