WTCC - Three-way fight for Yokohama trophy

As usual the Yokohama Trophy awards double points in Macau, meaning that a maximum score of 43 will be possible: 20 per each victory plus one for pole position and fastest laps.

WTCC - Three-way fight for Yokohama trophy

View photo

Pepe Oriola, Norbert Michelisz y Stefano D'Aste

This results in the title fight being still wide open, as the current leader Norbert Michelisz has a 12-point margin ahead of Pepe Oriola, while Stefano D’Aste is only four further points adrift.

Of the three contenders, Michelisz is the one who has collected the best results at Macau in the past, where he claimed an overall race win in 2010.

All other drivers are no longer in contention, but may become a factor as some of them wish to end the season on a high, like Alex MacDowall, Franz Engstler and Mehdi Bennani who are currently fourth, fifth and sixth in the points. Or Darryl O’Young, who is looking for his first home victory after he claimed two consecutive Yokohama Trophy pole positions in 2010 and 2011.

In the Team Trophy, ROAL Motorsport defend an 18-point lead from Lukoil Racing Team, while Tuenti Racing Team lie a further 12 points adrift. The points still at stake are 72.

View comments (1)