China to host revamped Club World Cup in 2021

Yahoo Sport UK

China will host the first 24-team Club World Cup in 2021 after FIFA voted to expand the tournament.

The competition ordinarily features the best team from each confederation going head-to-head for glory, but it is set to be expanded with the action taking place in June and July.

It is expected to comprise eight teams from Europe, one each from China and Oceania, and three per remaining continental confederation.

Scroll to continue with content
The FIFA Club World Cup will be expanded to 24 teams - and set in China. (Credit: Getty Images)
The FIFA Club World Cup will be expanded to 24 teams - and set in China. (Credit: Getty Images)

READ MORE: Klopp beats Guardiola and Pochettino to The Best FIFA Men’s Coach award
READ MORE: Messi beats Van Dijk and Ronaldo to FIFA Best award

As a result of the proposed changes, several top European clubs have previously said they will boycott the tournament.

But FIFA president Gianni Infantino - who added no other nation was interested in hosting it - labelled it the ‘first real’ Club World Cup.

“The new [tournament] will be a competition anyone who loves football is looking forward to,” he said. “It is the first real and true World Cup where the best clubs will compete.

“It will allow us to generate significant revenues but I want to underline this, very, very clearly .....Fifa will have zero out of this because we will reinvest this in football.”

Ahead of the traditional international 2022 World Cup, Qatar will host the club tournament for the final two years of its current format.

This year, it will commence on December 11 - with Premier League leaders and reigning Champions League winners Liverpool entering at the semi-final stage.

Featured from our writers

Yahoo Sport UK presents Tailgate

What to read next