The 12 Tottenham players missing for Newcastle friendly in Australia as 24-man squad confirmed

Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg and Cristian Romero are not part of the Tottenham squad for the trip to Australia

Ange Postecoglou will have 24 players to select from after Tottenham's playing squad for their post-season friendly against Newcastle United in Australia was confirmed. Fresh from beating Sheffield United on the final day of the 2023/24 Premier League campaign, Spurs immediately jetted off to Melbourne for a game against Eddie Howe's side.

The showdown will take place at the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Wednesday, May 22, with a kick-off time of 7.45pm in Australia (10.45am UK). Taking the vast majority of his squad that secured all three points at Bramall Lane on Sunday, Postecoglou will also have a number of the club's talented youngsters to choose from.

Midfielders Rio Kyerematen and Leo Black are with the Tottenham first-team squad for the very first time, joining fellow youngsters George Abbott, Tyrese Hall, Jamie Donley and Yago Santiago in the matchday party. Ashley Phillips and Alfie Devine are also back with the Tottenham first-team squad after spending the second part of the campaign on loan with Plymouth Argyle in the Championship.

Cristian Romero and Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg are not part of Tottenham's squad for the trip to Australia despite playing against Sheffield United on Sunday, with Giovani Lo Celso, who was not included in South Yorkshire as he was an injury doubt leading up to the game, also absent. Postecoglou has had to deal with a number of injuries during the run-in and he will once again be without Fraser Forster, Ben Davies, Ryan Sessegnon, Destiny Udogie, Yves Bissouma, Manor Solomon, Timo Werner and Richarlison.

Talented youngster Mikey Moore is another to also miss out as he will instead link up with the England Squad for the European Under-17s Championship. Praising his squad on Sunday after they secured fifth place and a Europa League berth courtesy of the 3-0 win over the Blades, Postecoglou will be looking to end his first season in the Tottenham hotseat with another victory against Newcastle United.

READ MORE: Ange Postecoglou makes Tottenham striker decision to raise important Champions League question

READ MORE: Every word Ange Postecoglou said on Kulusevski, his message to the players and Australia trip

Here is the Tottenham squad for the club's trip to Australia:

Goalkeepers: Guglielmo Vicario, Brandon Austin, Alfie Whiteman.

Defenders: Pedro Porro, Emerson Royal, Radu Dragusin, Micky van de Ven, Ashley Phillips, George Abbott.

Midfielders: Rodrigo Bentancur, Oliver Skipp, Pape Matar Sarr, James Maddison, Alfie Devine, Tyrese Hall, Rio Kyerematen, Leo Black.

Attackers: Dejan Kulusevski, Brennan Johnson, Bryan Gil, Son Heung-min, Dane Scarlett, Jamie Donley, Yago Santiago.

Missing players: Fraser Forster, Cristian Romero, Ben Davies, Ryan Sessegnon, Destiny Udogie, Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg, Yves Bissouma, Giovani Lo Celso, Manor Solomon, Timo Werner, Richarlison, Mikey Moore.

Want breaking and top Tottenham stories sent straight to you? Join our Spurs WhatsApp community by clicking this link. If you're curious you can check out our privacy policy here.

Catch up with this week's Gold & Guest Talk Tottenham by clicking here! In depth Spurs chat on your preferred podcast platform.