British Soap Awards 2023 winners list revealed

Coronation Street and EastEnders were the big winners at the British Soap Awards 2023.

Corrie took home the most prizes in total, claiming six gongs on the night. However, EastEnders wasn't far behind with four awards – including the coveted trophy for Best Soap.

There was strong success for Coronation Street's acid attack plot, which won the prizes for Best Single Episode and Scene of the Year. Charlotte Jordan, who plays Daisy Midgeley, also triumphed in the Best Dramatic Performance category after her work on the impactful story.

daisy midgeley, ryan connor, justin, coronation street

Additionally, Weatherfield's Channique Sterling-Brown (Dee-Dee Bailey) was named Best Newcomer, the Platts triumphed as Best Family and Dame Maureen Lipman (Evelyn Plummer) secured the Best Comedy Performance prize.

EastEnders secured an impressive clean sweep of the viewer-voted categories, reflecting a rise in goodwill from fans over the past year following Chris Clenshaw's appointment as executive producer.

As well as winning Best Soap for the first time since 2015, the show celebrated wins for Danielle Harold (Lola Pearce-Brown) as Best Leading Performer, Aaron Thiara (Ravi Gulati) as Best Villain and Lillia Turner (Lily Slater) as Best Young Performer.

lola pearce in eastenders

Hollyoaks had two prizes, as incel Eric Foster's plot won the Best Storyline award and the show's casting director Peter Hunt was recognised with the Tony Warren Award which celebrates those who work behind the scenes.

Emmerdale's Mark Charnock bagged the Outstanding Achievement award after more than 25 years as Marlon Dingle.

Doctors stars Jan Pearson (Karen Hollins) and Chris Walker (Rob Hollins) won the Best On-Screen Partnership prize, after Jan's shock departure from the show earlier this year.

The full list of winners follow below.

Viewer-voted categories

Best Leading Performer

Charlotte Jordan (Daisy Midgeley, Coronation Street)

Danielle Harold (Lola Pearce-Brown, EastEnders) – WINNER!

Shona McGarty (Whitney Dean, EastEnders)

Sally Dexter (Faith Dingle, Emmerdale)

Dominic Brunt (Paddy Dingle, Emmerdale)

Best Villain

Todd Boyce (Stephen Reid, Coronation Street)

Laura White (Princess Buchanan, Doctors)

Aaron Thiara (Ravi Gulati, EastEnders) – WINNER!

Michael Wildman (Al Chapman, Emmerdale)

Angus Castle-Doughty (Eric Foster, Hollyoaks)

ravi gulati, eastenders

Best Young Performer

Jude Riordan (Sam Blakeman, Coronation Street)

Lillia Turner (Lily Slater, EastEnders) – WINNER!

Huey Quinn (Kyle Winchester, Emmerdale)

Jayden Fox (Bobby Costello, Hollyoaks)

Best British Soap

Coronation Street


EastEnders – WINNER!



Panel-voted categories

Best Comedy Performance

Maureen Lipman (Evelyn Plummer, Coronation Street) – WINNER!

Ian Midlane (Al Haskey, Doctors)

Jonny Freeman (Reiss Colwell, EastEnders)

Samantha Giles (Bernice Blackstock, Emmerdale)

Kieron Richardson (Ste Hay, Hollyoaks)

Best Dramatic Performance

Charlotte Jordan (Daisy Midgeley, Coronation Street) – WINNER!

Chris Walker (Rob Hollins, Doctors)

Danielle Harold (Lola Pearce-Brown, EastEnders)

Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle, Emmerdale)

Nikki Sanderson (Maxine Minniver, Hollyoaks)

Best Single Episode

Acid attack (Coronation Street) – WINNER!

'Anything But Magnolia' and 'If Wishes Were Horses' – Karen's death (Doctors)

Goodbye Dot (EastEnders)

All-male man club episode (Emmerdale)

The Long Walk Home (Hollyoaks)

Best Newcomer

Channique Sterling-Brown (Dee-Dee Bailey, Coronation Street) – WINNER!

Kia Pegg (Scarlett Kiernan, Doctors)

Aaron Thiara (Ravi Gulati, EastEnders)

William Ash (Caleb Miligan, Emmerdale)

Anya Lawrence (Vicky Grant, Hollyoaks)

channique sterlingbrown as deedee bailey in coronation street
Joseph Scanlon - ITV

Best Family

The Platts (Coronation Street) – WINNER!

The Millars (Doctors)

The Slaters (EastEnders)

The Dingles (Emmerdale)

The McQueens (Hollyoaks)

Best Storyline

Daisy's stalking hell (Coronation Street)

Valerie and the forged prescription (Doctors)

Loving and losing Lola (EastEnders)

Paddy's suicide attempt (Emmerdale)

Incel Eric targets Mason and Maxine (Hollyoaks) – WINNER!

Scene of the Year

The acid attack (Coronation Street) – WINNER!

Hell is Empty – the explosion (Doctors)

Whitney and Zack say goodbye to Peach (EastEnders)

Paddy's suicide attempt (Emmerdale)

Zoe tells abused Maxine "It's not your fault" (Hollyoaks)

Best On-Screen Partnership

David Neilson and Maureen Lipman (Roy Cropper and Evelyn Plummer, Coronation Street)

Chris Walker and Jan Pearson (Rob and Karen Hollins, Doctors) – WINNER!

Jamie Borthwick and Danielle Harold (Jay Brown and Lola Pearce-Brown, EastEnders)

Mark Charnock and Dominic Brunt (Marlon Dingle and Paddy Dingle, Emmerdale)

Richard Blackwood and Jamie Lomas (Felix Westwood and Warren Fox, Hollyoaks)

Outstanding Achievement Prize

Mark Charnock (Marlon Dingle, Emmerdale)

Tony Warren Award

Peter Hunt - Hollyoaks casting director

The British Soap Awards 2023 took place at The Lowry theatre in Salford, with Jane McDonald hosting on the night following Phillip Schofield's recent decision to stand down from his remaining ITV commitments.

For the first time since 2017, the ceremony was pre-recorded rather than airing live on ITV1. The awards show will go out on Tuesday, June 6 in a two-hour slot from 8pm on ITV1 and ITVX.

Read more Coronation Street spoilers on our dedicated homepage

You Might Also Like