England and Northern Ireland to meet in Women’s Euro 2022 group stage

·2-min read

England will face Austria in the opening game of the Uefa Women’s Euro 2022 tournament at Old Trafford on 6 July, and the hosts will also face Northern Ireland and Austria in Group A after the draw was made in Manchester on Thursday.

Related: Women’s Euro 2022: England and Northern Ireland drawn together – live!

It is a relatively kind draw for Sarina Wiegman’s side, who will take on Norway in Brighton on 11 July, before a home nations derby against Northern Ireland at St Mary’s on 15 July. Kenny Shiels’ debutants will play all three of their group games in Southampton, facing Norway on 7 July and Austria on 11 July.

When is the tournament?
It opens on Wednesday 6 July at Old Trafford and finishes on Sunday 31 July at Wembley.

Which stadiums are being used?
Brentford's Community Stadium
(three group games and a quarter-final)
Brighton's Amex Stadium (two group games and a quarter-final)
Leigh Sports Village (three group games and a quarter-final)
Manchester City's Academy Stadium (three group games)
Manchester United's Old Trafford (one group game)
Milton Keynes Dons' Stadium MK (three group games and a semi-final)
Rotherham's New York Stadium (three group games and a quarter-final)
Sheffield United's Bramall Lane (three group games and a semi-final)
Southampton's St Mary's Stadium (three group games)
Wembley (final)

How do I get tickets?
Applications through a ballot open at 7pm BST on 28 October via uefa.com/tickets. Tickets are due to go on general sale in mid-February 2022. Tickets start at £5 for those aged 16 and under and at £10 for general admission.

How does the tournament work?
The 16 teams are in four groups of four and the top two in each group will progress to the quarter-finals.

Which teams are in which group?
Group A England, Austria, Norway, Northern Ireland
Group B Germany, Denmark, Spain, Finland
Group C Netherlands, Sweden, Russia, Switzerland
Group D France, Italy, Belgium, Iceland

How many previous Euros have been held?
This is the 13th edition of the tournament. It has been won seven times by Germany, once by West Germany, twice by Norway and once each by Sweden and the Netherlands. The Netherlands are the holders, ending a run of six Germany wins in a row.

Germany, eight times the winners, face a tricky draw alongside Denmark, Spain and Finland in Group B – with the runners-up set to meet the Group A winners in the quarter-finals.

Elsewhere the defending champions, Netherlands, will face Sweden, Russia and Switzerland in Group C. The other seeded side, France, take on Italy, Belgium and Iceland in Group D.

More to follow

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting