FA Cup Final: Jack Grealish reacts to Man City handball incident with blunt assessment

Penalised: Jack Grealish and referee Paul Tierney  (Getty Images)
Penalised: Jack Grealish and referee Paul Tierney (Getty Images)

Manchester City's Jack Grealish has expressed his bewilderment at the penalty he gave away in the FA Cup Final.

The midfielder was penalised for handling the ball in the penalty area after Aaron Wan-Bissaka's header hit his fingers. Referee Paul Tierney did not notice the incident in real time, but was soon instructed by VAR to take a second look via the pitchside monitor and duly awarded a spot kick.

Bruno Fernandes stepped up and sent City keeper Stefan Ortega the wrong way to level the scores in the first half after Ilkay Gundogan's opener after just 13 seconds.

Gundogan added his and his team’s second goal shortly after half-time, and Grealish has thanked Gundogan for "saving" him as City went on the lift the trophy.

"I obviously give away the penalty ... I don't know how it's a penalty, I'm not even looking at the ball,” he told BBC Sport.

Grealish then reenacted his body movement during the incident, while adding: "I've missed the ball with my head, and [Wan-Bissaka] has headed it. I can understand if I've blocked a cross [while] looking at it... anyway, Gundo saved me."

Next up for City is the Champions League Final on June 10 against Inter Milan.