Germany will not bid for Euro 2020

Germany will not bid to host Euro 2020, the DFB said, ending months of speculation regarding its intentions.


Germany, hosts of the 2006 World Cup and the 2011 women's World Cup, said it was the turn for other countries to stage one of the world's top sporting events.

"The thought of welcoming the continent's best teams and their fans in Germany is naturally very attractive," said DFB president Wolfgang Niersbach.

"But after the 2006 and 2011 World Cups it is the right of other countries to take over the hospitality role."

So far only Turkey have submitted their declared interest while Azerbaijan and Georgia have said they are planning to file a joint bid.

The deadline for a declaration of interest is May 15.

The tournament, first staged with four teams in 1960, will have 24 finalists from 2016 onwards which limits the number of countries who can stage it single-handedly.

Turkey lost out by a single vote to France in a bid to stage the 2016 finals.

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 21/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 1/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £300 Saturday 36/340 £1 £300 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter