The Open 2022: third round tee times at St Andrews

The Open 2022: third round tee times at St Andrews - R&A VIA GETTY IMAGES
The Open 2022: third round tee times at St Andrews - R&A VIA GETTY IMAGES

Rory McIlroy believes he is in a strong position to end his major drought after maintaining his promising start to the Open at St Andrews.

The Northern Irishman followed up his first-round 66 with 68 on Friday to sit on 10-under at the halfway stage, three behind leader Cameron Smith.

World No 2 McIlroy, 33, has not won any of golf's major prizes for eight years but, despite feeling he could have shot even better, feels he is now well poised.

"Overall I felt like it was a good day," said the 2014 Open champion. "I'm in a good position going into the weekend and that's all I can really ask of myself.

"There was a couple of short putts there that I could have held and could have been a bit closer to the lead. It would have been nice to make a three at 18. But it's two really, really solid rounds to open with and really happy with that."

Third round tee times (all times BST)

(x) denotes amateurs

8.35 – Richard Mansell

8.45 – Trey Mullinax, Kevin Kisner

8.55 Tony Finau, Adri Arnaus

9.05 Justin De Los Santos, Robert MacIntyre

9.15 – Francesco Molinari, Dean Burmester

9.25Lars van Meijel, Robert Dinwiddie

9.40Sebastian Munoz, Jordan Smith

9.50Sungjae Im, Aaron Jarvis (x)

10.00Wyndham Clark, Sam Bairstow (x)

10.10Christiaan Bezuidenhout, John Parry

10.20 – Anthony Quayle, Chris Kirk

10.30Hideki Matsuyama, Bryson DeChambeau

10.45Jamie Rutherford, Jason Scrivener

10.55 – Joaquin Niemann, Paul Casey

11.05Marcus Armitage, Adrian Meronk

11.15Justin Thomas, Jason Kokrak

11.25Danny Willett, Corey Conners

11.35Billy Horschel, Cameron Tringale

11.50 – Laurie Canter, Thomas Pieters

12.00 – Russell Henley, Dylan Frittelli

12.10Brian Harman, Tommy Fleetwood

12.20Kurt Kitayama, Garrick Higgo

12.30 – Ian Poulter, Sam Burns

12.40David Law, Filippo Celli (x)

12.55Sergio Garcia, Will Zalatoris

13.05Shane Lowry, Nicolai Hojgaard

13.15Victor Perez, Brad Kennedy

13.25JH Kim, Patrick Reed

13.35Harold Varner III, Jon Rahm

13.45Jordan Spieth, Thriston Lawrence

14.00Thomas Detry, Xander Schauffele

14.10Lee Westwood, David Carey

14.20 – Yuto Katsuragawa, Abraham Ancer

14.30 – Aaron Wise, Lucas Herbert

14.40Barclay Brown (x), Sadom Kaewkanjana

14.50Min Woo Lee, Matt Fitzpatrick

15.05 – Si Woo Kim, Sahith Theegala

15.15 – Patrick Cantlay, Adam Scott

15.25Talor Gooch, Tyrrell Hatton

15.35Scottie Scheffler, Dustin Johnson

15.45Rory McIlroy, Viktor Hovland

15.55Cameron Young, Cameron Smith